Accounting
Webling
Provenance unknown Report an errorPanel rating · 6 judges · How to read the stars
Category median
Sovereignty: 1 of 4 dimensions proven
0–5 in half steps. 5 means the rubric's top anchor is met on the evidence.
by Webling AG · www.webling.ch
Report an error on this page Is this your product? →
Read this page as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.
The panel's verdict
Webling is web-based administration software for clubs and associations from Webling AG, with five modules — accounting, member administration, calendar and events, communication and a member portal — priced by member count. The bench scores it strongest on pricing transparency, 7-9: every tier from 100 to 10,000 members is published in annual and monthly figures, everything is included with no add-on purchases, users are unlimited, and pricing starts at 14.90 CHF per month with annual billing, with a free tier below 50 members and a 30-day trial without a credit card. It is weakest where a German bookkeeping buyer needs evidence: GoBD compliance, tax and filings, and adviser handoff score 0-1, with no public information on posting immutability, VAT returns, ELSTER or a DATEV export. Bookkeeping core scores 1-3 and documents and banking 1-2. The judges genuinely split on sovereignty, 1-5: they cite the same facts — own Swiss servers, in-house development in Winterthur, a data processing agreement available, no published subprocessor list — but weigh the non-EU jurisdiction and the absence of a retention export very differently.
Speaks for it
- Published annual and monthly prices for every tier from 100 to 10,000 members, with all functions included and no add-on purchases
- Free tier below 50 members and a 30-day trial without a credit card or cancellation obligation
- Unlimited users on every tier, with updates and daily backups included in the subscription
- Accounting module covering member invoicing, bank reconciliation and a financial dashboard, with two separate accountings from the 100-member tier
- Hosting on the vendor's own servers in Switzerland, in-house development in Winterthur, encrypted connections, and a data processing agreement available with GDPR and Swiss data protection coverage stated
Held against it
- No public information on GoBD, posting immutability, a change history, statutory retention or a Verfahrensdokumentation
- No public information on VAT logic, UStVA, ELSTER submission or EÜR; no filing capability evidenced
- No public information on a DATEV export, any named accounting export format, or adviser access; the only documented interface is an Excel/CSV import for migration
- No public information on double-entry postings, a chart of accounts, journals, opening balances or a period close
- No public information on a subprocessor list or an export that satisfies statutory retention after leaving the vendor
Best for
- You run a club or association and want member administration, a member portal, calendar and communication alongside simplified bookkeeping in one web-based tool
- You want predictable pricing you can compute from member count, with unlimited users and all functions included from the 100-member tier upward
- Your accounting needs stop at invoicing members and reconciling the bank account
Avoid if
- You operate under German tax law and need GoBD-compliant records — the compliance statements shown cover GDPR and Swiss data protection only
- You must generate or submit VAT returns, UStVA or an EÜR — the accounting module as shown covers member invoicing, bank reconciliation and a financial dashboard
- You hand the year-end to a Steuerberater — the only data interface described on the pages is the Excel/CSV import for migrating an old system's member data
- You need EU-based hosting or an EU contracting entity — the pages state own servers in Switzerland, development in Winterthur, and the hosting company uSystems GmbH in Winterthur, Switzerland
The scores
Bookkeeping core
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
Double-entry, the chart of accounts (SKR03/SKR04), postings, journals, opening balances and period closing — the ledger underneath the pretty screens.
0 — Income-and-expense lists only; no double-entry, no chart of accounts, no journal.
3 — Simplified bookkeeping suitable for EÜR with a fixed account list; no free posting, no period close.
5 — Double-entry with SKR03/SKR04, manual postings, journals, opening balances and a month-end close.
8 — Full ledger with cost centres, recurring and reversing entries, accruals, multi-year comparatives, and a documented close checklist with locking.
10 — An accountant's ledger: configurable charts including customised accounts, period locking with audit, foreign currency with documented valuation, group or multi-entity handling, and reporting that reconciles to the trial balance.
The Bookkeeper
A bookkeeping module exists with member invoices, bank reconciliation and multiple separate accountings, but I found no public information on double-entry, a chart of accounts, journals, opening balances or a period close — nothing published shows a ledger underneath the dashboards. What the pages describe could be a simple club cashbook; nothing shows postings or a close that locks. 1
The Tax Adviser
A Buchhaltung module with bank reconciliation, member invoicing and up to two separate ledgers per subscription is described, but I found no public information on double-entry postings, a chart of accounts, journals, opening balances or any period close. The ledger structure underneath the screens is exactly what I need at year-end, and nothing on the pages describes it. 1
The Auditor
Invoicing, bank reconciliation, a financial dashboard and even multiple separate accountings per Mandant are described, which is more than a bare income list; but I found no public information on double-entry mechanics, a chart of accounts, journals, opening balances or a period close, so I cannot credit a genuine ledger underneath the screens. 1
The Founder
The pages show a real accounting module — invoices to members, a financial dashboard, bank reconciliation, and paid tiers carrying two separate sets of books — but I found no public information on double-entry, a chart of accounts, journals, opening balances or a period close. The product is built for clubs, and the ledger underneath the pretty screens is simply not evidenced. 1
The Integrator
The pages evidence an accounting module — member invoicing, bank reconciliation, a financial dashboard and two separate accountings on the entry tier — but we found no public information on double-entry postings, a chart of accounts, journals, opening balances or a period close. With the ledger structure entirely undescribed, this sits just above the bottom of the scale. 1
The Skeptic
A real bookkeeping module exists — member invoicing, bank reconciliation, a financial dashboard, and two separate accountings from the 100-member tier — which is more than income-and-expense lists. But we found no public information on double-entry, an SKR03/SKR04 chart of accounts, journals, opening balances or a period close, so what is shown reads as simplified club bookkeeping. 1
GoBD, immutability & audit
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
Whether the record survives a tax audit: unalterable postings, complete change history, retention across the statutory period, and a Verfahrensdokumentation the vendor actually supplies.
0 — Postings can be edited or deleted without trace; no retention statement, no GoBD claim, no documentation.
3 — GoBD asserted on the marketing page with nothing behind it — no described audit trail, no documentation offered, no statement on retention.
5 — Postings become unalterable after close with corrections booked as reversals, a change log exists, and the statutory retention period is stated.
8 — Documented GoBD conformity with a supplied Verfahrensdokumentation template, complete and exportable audit trail, receipts linked to postings, and a GoBD-compliant data export (GDPdU/Z3) for the auditor.
10 — Audit-ready as a product feature: an independent GoBD certification or attestation published, Verfahrensdokumentation maintained per release, tamper-evident journals, retention executed across the full statutory period, and an export the Betriebsprüfer accepts without argument.
The Bookkeeper
I found no public information on unalterable postings, a change history, statutory retention or a Verfahrensdokumentation; the compliance statements on record cover GDPR and Swiss data protection plus daily backups, not audit survival. Nothing in the captured pages addresses how the postings would fare in a tax audit. 1
The Tax Adviser
Daily backups, GDPR and Swiss data-protection coverage and an available data-processing agreement are stated, but I found no public information on posting immutability, a change history, retention periods, or any GoBD claim or Verfahrensdokumentation. Nothing here evidences that a record would come out of an audit intact. 1
The Auditor
I found no public information on posting immutability, a change history, corrections booked as reversals, statutory retention or a Verfahrensdokumentation; the compliance statements on the captured pages cover only GDPR and Swiss data protection with daily backups, which says nothing about surviving a tax audit. 1
The Founder
I found no public information on GoBD, unalterable postings, a change history, retention periods or a Verfahrensdokumentation. The only durability statements are daily backups included in the subscription and encrypted connections to the vendor's own Swiss servers, which says nothing about a record surviving a tax audit. 1
The Integrator
We found no public information on GoBD, unalterable postings, a change history, statutory retention or a Verfahrensdokumentation; the vendor instead states GDPR and Swiss data protection coverage, encrypted connections and daily backups. Nothing in the captured material evidences a record that would survive a German tax audit. 1
The Skeptic
The captured page carries no GoBD claim at all, and we found no public information on posting immutability, a change history, statutory retention or a Verfahrensdokumentation. A claim printed on a page with nothing behind it would be the low bar here; even the claim is absent. 1
Tax handling & filings
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
VAT logic and the filings that follow: UStVA, ELSTER submission, EÜR or Bilanz, OSS for cross-border sales, and reverse-charge handling.
0 — No VAT logic beyond a rate field; no filings, no ELSTER.
3 — VAT rates and a UStVA figure to copy out by hand; no electronic submission, no special cases.
5 — UStVA prepared and submitted electronically via ELSTER, EÜR or a simple balance sheet produced, and reverse-charge and intra-community supply handled.
8 — The above plus OSS handling for cross-border B2C, Zusammenfassende Meldung, small-business (§19) and Ist/Soll taxation, permanent extension (Dauerfristverlängerung), and E-Bilanz where relevant.
10 — The filing year is handled end to end: every routine German filing generated and submitted electronically with validation before sending, cross-border VAT determined from the transaction rather than by hand, and correction filings supported.
The Bookkeeper
I found no public information on VAT logic or on any filing, electronic or otherwise — the accounting marketing names invoices, bank reconciliation and a financial dashboard and stops there. The filing year is simply not covered by anything captured. 1
The Tax Adviser
Sending invoices to members is described, but I found no public information on VAT logic, VAT returns or any electronic filing; ELSTER, OSS and reverse charge do not appear on the captured pages. A German filing year cannot be run from what is published. 1
The Auditor
The accounting module promises invoicing and bookkeeping for associations, but I found no public information on VAT logic, advance VAT returns, electronic submission to any tax authority, or small-business and cross-border handling; no filing capability is evidenced at all. 1
The Founder
Member invoicing is described, but I found no public information on VAT rates or logic, UStVA, ELSTER, EÜR or any filing the software generates or submits. For a Swiss club tool that is perhaps unsurprising; as the person who wants the VAT return submitted without learning ELSTER, I see no evidenced tax handling to pay for. 1
The Integrator
Member invoicing is evidenced, but we found no public information on VAT logic or rates, UStVA, ELSTER, EÜR or a balance sheet being generated or submitted. Even a hand-copied VAT figure is not evidenced, so the bottom of the scale applies. 1
The Skeptic
Member invoices are described, but we found no public information on VAT logic, UStVA, ELSTER submission, EÜR or cross-border handling such as OSS. No filing capability, electronic or otherwise, is evidenced. 1
Receipts, banking & matching
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
How evidence and money get into the ledger: bank feeds, receipt capture, OCR, matching rules, and whether the digital receipt is legally sufficient on its own.
0 — Manual entry only; no bank connection, no receipt storage.
3 — Bank statement import by file and receipt upload as plain attachments; matching is entirely manual.
5 — Automatic bank feeds for the major German banks, receipt upload with OCR, suggested matches, and receipts linked to their postings.
8 — PSD2 feeds across many institutions, rule-based automatic matching with learning, e-invoice handling (ZUGFeRD/XRechnung) both directions, and replacement scanning (ersetzendes Scannen) documented so paper can be destroyed.
10 — The evidence chain is closed: every posting reaches its receipt in one click, e-invoicing inbound and outbound as standard, documented compliant archiving of the digital original, and matching accurate enough that exceptions rather than transactions are the work.
The Bookkeeper
Bank reconciliation is claimed and there is an Excel/CSV import for migrating from an old system, but I found no public information on bank feeds or statement import, receipt capture, OCR, matching rules or archiving of the digital original. As far as the pages show, money reaches the books by hand. 1
The Tax Adviser
Bank reconciliation is named as a feature, but I found no public information on how statements arrive — no feed or import is described — and nothing on receipt capture, OCR or e-invoicing. The Excel/CSV path described serves importing data from an old system, not getting evidence into the ledger. 1
The Auditor
Bank reconciliation is a named feature and tiered storage exists, but I found no public information on automatic bank feeds, receipt capture, OCR or matching rules; the only data movement described is an Excel/CSV import used when migrating from a previous system, and nothing describes how evidence reaches the ledger. 1
The Founder
Bank reconciliation is named as a feature, but I found no public information on bank feeds, statement import, receipt capture, OCR, matching rules or e-invoicing such as ZUGFeRD and XRechnung. If money reaches the ledger only through my own typing, the Sunday hour I would pay to save stays unsaved. 1
The Integrator
Bank reconciliation is a named feature and general CSV/Excel import exists for migrating from an old system, but we found no public information on automatic bank feeds, statement import mechanics, OCR receipt capture, matching rules or e-invoicing formats such as ZUGFeRD or XRechnung. Storage from 4 MB on the free tier to 4 GB at the entry tier implies documents are kept, though receipt linkage to postings is undescribed. 1
The Skeptic
Bank reconciliation is named as a feature, but we found no public information on bank feeds, receipt capture, OCR, matching rules or e-invoicing; the only documented data exchange is an Excel/CSV import for migrating an old system's member data. With neither a described bank connection nor receipt storage, I cannot put this at the file-import level. 1
Tax adviser handoff
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
How the books reach the Steuerberater — DATEV above all — and whether the adviser can work in the system rather than around it.
0 — No adviser access and no accounting export; the year-end is a pile of PDFs.
3 — Generic CSV or Excel export described as "suitable for your tax adviser", with no named format.
5 — A documented DATEV export (postings and, ideally, receipts) plus a read-only login for the adviser.
8 — DATEV export including receipt images with correct linking, or a maintained DATEV interface; the adviser gets their own scoped access with an audit of what they changed.
10 — The adviser is a first-class user: bidirectional DATEV exchange including corrections coming back, or a certified interface; period handover with locking, and a workflow where adviser queries are resolved inside the system.
The Bookkeeper
I found no public information on an accounting export in any adviser format or on adviser access; the only import or export statement is an Excel/CSV migration of data into the system at onboarding. Nothing describes how the year-end reaches a professional accountant. 1
The Tax Adviser
I found no public information on adviser access, a DATEV export, or any accounting export at all; the only data movement described is an import into the product. Unlimited users means an adviser could be invited as an ordinary user, but no scoped access, export format or handover workflow is evidenced. 1
The Auditor
I found no public information on adviser access, a read-only login, or any accounting export in a named adviser format such as DATEV; the only import/export described moves data into the product from an old system, so I cannot assess a handoff to a tax adviser at all. 1
The Founder
I found no public information on adviser access or an accounting export; the only transfer described is bringing your old system's data in via Excel or CSV, and I found no mention of DATEV or any named adviser format. The year-end handover would rest on whatever I can pull out myself. 1
The Integrator
We found no public information on a DATEV export, any named accounting export format, or an adviser login; the only interface described is the Excel/CSV import used for migration, and a documented API is also absent from the captured pages. The year-end handover to a Steuerberater is simply not evidenced. 1
The Skeptic
We found no public information on adviser access, a DATEV export, or any named accounting export format; the documented import path moves member data into the system, not books out to a tax adviser. Nothing on the captured page shows the year-end reaching a Steuerberater in workable form. 1
European sovereignty
panel opinion
panel disagrees
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
Where the books live and who could be compelled to produce them — plus, uniquely here, whether statutory retention survives leaving the vendor. Independently sourced by the sovereignty pipeline.
0 — Non-EU vendor and contracting entity, hosting unstated or non-EU, subprocessors unnamed — with a ten-year retention obligation attached to data held abroad.
3 — EU hosting offered while the contracting entity is non-EU, or the subprocessor list is absent.
5 — EU hosting as standard and an EU contracting entity, but parts of the chain — OCR, AI categorisation, support tooling — are non-EU without an explained safeguard.
8 — EU or German hosting on named infrastructure, EU contracting entity, full subprocessor list published, and a stated export that satisfies retention if the contract ends.
10 — Sovereign and durable: German or EU hosting throughout, every subprocessor European, certification published, and a documented archive export that keeps the customer compliant for the full retention period after they leave.
The Bookkeeper
Hosting is on the vendor's own servers in Switzerland with development in-house in Winterthur, a data processing agreement is available and GDPR plus Swiss data protection are covered — a transparent and mostly self-operated chain, though outside the EU. I found no public information on a subprocessor list or on an export that keeps retention satisfied if the contract ends. 1
The Tax Adviser
Hosting, development and the contracting entity are all named and Swiss — own servers in Switzerland, development in-house in Winterthur — with a data-processing agreement available, which is more than most pages state. But Switzerland is not an EU location, no subprocessor list is published, and I found no public information on an export that would satisfy statutory retention if the contract ends. 1
The Auditor
The pages are candid: own servers in Switzerland, in-house development in Winterthur, a Swiss contracting entity, and a data processing agreement available; however the hosting jurisdiction is outside the EU, no subprocessor list is published, and I found no public information on an archive export that would keep a customer compliant for the statutory retention period after leaving. 1
The Founder
The vendor's own pages are the only source: own servers in Switzerland, development in-house in Winterthur, a Winterthur contracting entity, GDPR plus Swiss data protection coverage, and a data processing agreement available. But I found no subprocessor list, no published certification, and no statement on an archive export satisfying statutory retention after leaving — and Switzerland sits outside the EU, so both hosting and contracting entity are non-EU. Decent transparency, incomplete chain. 1
The Integrator
The chain is concrete and European: the vendor's own servers in Switzerland, in-house development in Winterthur, a Swiss contracting entity, and a published data processing agreement, with GDPR and Swiss data protection coverage stated. We found no public information on a subprocessor list, certification, or an export that keeps the books retrievable for statutory retention after leaving — daily backups are not a departure export. 1
The Skeptic
The hosting story is concrete — the vendor's own servers in Switzerland operated by uSystems GmbH, in-house development in Winterthur, encrypted connections, daily backups included, and a data processing agreement published under GDPR and Swiss data protection law. But the contracting entity sits outside the EU, and we found no public information on subprocessors or on an export that keeps statutory retention alive after leaving the vendor. 1
Pricing transparency
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
Whether a business can compute the real annual invoice — including the bookings, users, bank accounts and adviser access they actually need — from public pages alone.
0 — No public prices at all; every tier is a sales conversation.
3 — A headline monthly price exists, but booking or document limits, extra users or the tier where DATEV export begins are unstated.
5 — Tier prices public with billing period stated and the main limits given, but at least one commonly needed piece (DATEV export, extra bank accounts, adviser seat) sits in an unpriced tier.
8 — Every tier and add-on priced publicly with limits, overage, minimum term and VAT treatment stated; adviser access priced or explicitly free.
10 — Complete price computability: annual invoice derivable for a given transaction volume, user count and feature set, including overage and the year-end extras.
The Bookkeeper
The full tier ladder is public in annual and monthly billing with member limits, storage, unlimited users and the statement that everything is included with nothing to buy separately, so a club can nearly compute its invoice. VAT treatment is not stated, and above 10,000 members the price becomes a conversation with support. 1
The Tax Adviser
Every tier is published with both annual and monthly prices, the limits that differ (members, separate ledgers, storage), unlimited users, and the statement that all functions are included with no add-ons; the free tier under 50 members and its restrictions are also given. The residual gaps are that VAT treatment of the quoted prices is not stated and above 10,000 members becomes an email exchange. 1
The Auditor
Every tier is priced publicly by member count with the billing period stated, unlimited users, backups and updates included, and the vendor states there is no buying of functions separately because everything is in the price; I found no public information on VAT treatment, per-tier limits are fully enumerated only for the free tier and the smallest paid tier, and above ten thousand members pricing becomes a mail to support. 1
The Founder
The most complete public price list I have judged: every tier from free upward is priced with annual-billing and monthly figures side by side, limits in members, separate accountings and storage are spelled out, users are unlimited, and the vendor states "im Preis ist alles enthalten" — nothing bought on top, which is exactly the trap I watch for. Entry is "ab 14.90 CHF pro Monat im Jahresabo", free below 50 members with restrictions enumerated. Only the over-10,000-member case is a conversation, and VAT treatment of the prices is unstated. 1
The Integrator
All tier prices are published for both annual and monthly billing, with member counts, separate accountings, storage and unlimited users stated, and the vendor says everything is included with no add-on purchases. VAT treatment is not stated and above 10,000 members the price becomes a support contact, which is what holds this below the top band. 1
The Skeptic
All tiers from 100 to 10,000 members are priced publicly in both annual and monthly billing, every tier from 100 members includes all functions with no add-on purchases, and users are unlimited — a club can largely compute its invoice from member count. The residual gaps: storage and separate-accounting counts are itemised only for the 100-member tier, VAT treatment is unstated, and above 10,000 members the price becomes an email to support. 1
European sovereignty — proven facts
1 of 4 dimensions provenBuilt only from facts shown on the vendor's own pages. A dimension we could not prove is left open, not scored as zero.
| Legal entity | Incorporated in CH | 3/3 pts | 2 Report an error |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ownership | Not determined | — | uncited Report an error |
| Data residency | Not determined | — | uncited Report an error |
| Subprocessors | Not determined | — | uncited Report an error |
Where this could be wrong
- Evidence ages. The oldest capture behind this page is from 29 Sep 2026. Vendors change pricing and policies without notice; every fact reflects its source as of the capture date shown in the registry.
- AI can misread a source. Extraction and judgement are automated; a citation guarantees traceability, not infallibility. If something here is wrong, say so — no account needed, every report is decided within 5 business days, and accepted corrections are published.
What we left out
A claim that does not survive our checks costs us the claim, not the page. This is what was taken off this one.
- 6 of the readings below were written against an earlier fact sheet — a fact has been corrected, added or pulled since. Until the panel next runs on this product you are reading the older judgement. Know more? Tell us
Sources (2)
The pages every claim on this page was read from — each one checked, dated, and kept verifiable.
- 1 Vendor page www.webling.ch Checked 29 Sep 2026 Details →
- 2 Imprint — found from the homepage www.webling.ch Checked 30 Sep 2026 Details →