whats-best.ai

Project Management & Collaboration · head-to-head

Asana vs awork

Asana

Rest of world

Work management platform for teams and enterprises.

Panel rating

Sovereignty: 3 of 4 dimensions proven

Full evaluation →

awork

EU-Made

Project management and resource planning for teams, made in Hamburg.

Panel rating

Sovereignty: 3 of 4 dimensions proven

Full evaluation →

The written short answer is being updated after a re-evaluation. The scores below are current.

Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.

The Data Protection Officer

Reads the DPA before the feature list. Optimizes for GDPR posture: EU hosting, subprocessor exposure, deletion guarantees. Rejects anything that cannot answer where the data lives.

Asana

awork

This judge's pick

Criterion by criterion

Collaboration depth

Asana

Dependencies, milestones and deadline alerts sit in the core, Portfolios roll work up across the organization, and Workload gives a real capacity view with drag-and-drop rebalancing and role filtering; guests are unlimited and free on paid tiers with guest permission management at Enterprise. The free plan caps at two users and Workload and Portfolios arrive only at Business, so the span from two freelancers to a department is not one uninterrupted model.

awork

Free client and freelancer access with no extra license fees is genuinely documented, and the calendar integration copy implies capacity planning, but the evidence never evidences assignments, comments, dependencies or a shared timeline — the collaborative core is asserted by product category, not shown.

Reporting

Asana

Universal Reporting brings cross-project, real-time dashboards covering workload, budget and timing, backed by a chart template library, a custom chart builder, filtering and drill-through to the underlying work. Export paths are credible — full-domain export via the API and BI tool support — and timesheets and budgets exist as an Enterprise add-on; I found no public information on scheduled report delivery, which keeps it below the very top band.

awork

The evidence is effectively silent on reporting: no dashboards, progress, budget or utilization capability appears anywhere, and the only fragment is tracked times being pushed to billing and PSA tools. Absence is information here — I cannot credit reporting the vendor does not evidence.

Integrations

Asana

The catalogue claims 200+ apps with Slack, Teams and email covered, the REST API is documented and free with any account and monitored on Stack Overflow, and a first-party CSV importer pulls Excel, Smartsheet, Wrike, Monday.com, Airtable and Trello. I found no public information on webhooks or automation-platform support, so I stop one step short of the top band.

awork

A broad, tier-labeled catalogue (calendars, Slack/Teams, storage, Zapier/Make/n8n, PSA, billing, SSO/SCIM) plus an open REST API and AI-agent connectors to external services — solid, though webhooks and competitor import paths are unevidenced. As DPO I note every connector is a subprocessor surface, and SSO/SCIM is gated to Enterprise tiers.

Onboarding effort

Asana

A free trial with no credit card required, signup through Google or Microsoft, a broad template gallery and a CSV import flow with preview and supported fields mean a team can reach real, imported work quickly. I found no public information on in-product guided setup, so I settle at this band rather than the one above.

awork

Self-serve trial without credit card is clean and welcome, but no guided setup, sensible-default claims or templates are evidenced, and the vendor itself frames full onboarding as a 6-week undertaking — this is not a minutes-to-value tool by its own words.

European sovereignty

Asana

Asana is a Delaware-incorporated, New York-listed company, data residency in Europe is offered only as an opt-in feature of the top paid tier, and the region of the default hosting is not stated on the captured pages. The GDPR paperwork is real — a named DPO, a DPA incorporated by reference, a transfer impact assessment — yet the privacy policy states data is transferred to regions where subprocessors and partners are located, and while a subprocessor list is listed among the trust documents, the captured pages do not show which processors those are or where they sit. That is compliance language over substance: from these pages I cannot answer where a default customer's data lives.

awork

The privacy policy answers my first question — where does the data live: Microsoft Azure, Germany West Central (Frankfurt) and Germany North (Berlin) — under a Hamburg GmbH with a downloadable DPA, an external DPO, EU/EEA-only AI inference with DPAs with all providers, no prompt training, and marketing tracking deactivated on paid contracts.

Support & documentation

Asana

The Help Center, a free Academy of 15 video courses with quizzes and a certificate, a community forum and a monitored Stack Overflow channel form a genuinely healthy learning surface. But the published 99.9% uptime commitment and 24/7 priority support are Enterprise-gated, and I found no public information on chat support or response times for the entry plans.

awork

A Germany-hosted help center with AI-assisted answers, chat and email support and published phone lines form a reasonable surface, but phone support sits on Professional/Enterprise plans and nothing evidences docs depth, response times, changelog or an academy. The privacy policy's own candour about support-data handling is reassuring, but candour is not coverage.

Pricing transparency

Asana

Personal, Starter and Advanced are priced publicly at €0, €10.99 and €24.99 per user, per month billed annually, with AI requests priced per request, but the headline is an annual-billed figure, the monthly difference appears only as "Save up to 18%", and tax treatment is not stated. The capabilities that decide an enterprise purchase — data residency, audit logs, timesheets and budgets — sit in an Enterprise tier without a number or in unpriced add-ons, and the page states plainly that refunds are not offered.

awork

Not a single numeric price survives into the evidence: tiers are known only by feature labels while Enterprise is contact-sales for 100+ users, and real cost drivers — the separately booked AI add-on, PSA add-ons, plan-gated phone support — surface outside any visible number, with billing period and tax treatment wholly absent. A buyer cannot determine the payable cost from what is captured here.

Sovereignty, side by side

Dimension Asana awork
Legal entity Incorporated in US Incorporated in DE
Ownership Publicly listed Not determined
Data residency EU optional EU only
Subprocessors Not determined US CLOUD Act reach

Facts, side by side

Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.

Compliance · GDPR Data protection and data subject rights for EU residents · GDPR1

captured 15 Sep 2026 · Report an error

yes2

captured 17 Sep 2026 · Report an error

Compliance · ISO 27001 information security management systems · ISO/IEC 27001:20221

captured 15 Sep 2026 · Report an error

yes2

captured 17 Sep 2026 · Report an error

Pricing · Free trial no · yes3

captured 1 Oct 2026 · Report an error

yes · no4

captured 17 Sep 2026 · Report an error

Support · Help center Help Center · Get support · Asana Academy · Certifications · Forum5

captured 1 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Help Center: Guides, tips & tricks6

captured 1 Oct 2026 · Report an error