whats-best.ai

Knowledge Base & Wiki · head-to-head

BlueSpice vs XWiki

As of 1 Nov 2026, the panel rates BlueSpice 3/5 and XWiki 3/5 in Knowledge Base & Wiki. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 0 of the 6 judges pick BlueSpice and 6 pick XWiki. XWiki scores higher on 6 of 6 criteria (Help-center publishing & integrations, Import, export & self-hosting, Verification, ownership & freshness, plus 3 more). Provenance — BlueSpice: EU-Made; XWiki: EU-Made. Ratings are the AI panel’s opinion, formed from public evidence: how scores are made.

BlueSpice

EU-Made

Panel rating

Sovereignty: not determined

Full evaluation →

XWiki

EU-Made

Panel rating

Sovereignty: not determined

Full evaluation →

The short answer

Per the computed table, XWiki holds the higher mean on the seven criteria and the higher weighted total in six of six judge rows. The leans differ by criterion: knowledge governance, portability and hosting, and pricing transparency run 6 judges for XWiki, 0 for BlueSpice; access control and publishing and integrations sit 5 for XWiki with 1 tie each; sovereignty sits 4 for XWiki with 2 ties; and authoring and search splits 3 for XWiki, 3 ties, 0 for BlueSpice. BlueSpice is strongest on sovereignty (7.0) and portability and hosting (6.3): its verdict records cloud data stated to sit in Germany, a published GDPR data processing agreement, and on-premises editions; the verdicts note it publishes no prices. XWiki's verdict cites OVHcloud hosting in France and published pricing from €773 / year for 25 users to €33,990 / year for 500 users. Both sovereignty attribute lists read unknown.

Choose BlueSpice if

  • You need cloud data stated to sit in Germany with a European server provider, plus a published GDPR data processing agreement, technical-organizational measures and a subcontractor list — BlueSpice's verdict records these under sovereignty, its strongest criterion (mean 7.0).
  • Your compliance review asks for a BSI C5 audit report covering the cloud — BlueSpice's verdict records an internal one.
  • Your sign-in stack runs on SAML, OpenID, LDAP or Kerberos with named identity providers — BlueSpice's access control (mean 6.2) rests on these, with a Permission Manager in the pro edition.
  • You are moving off Confluence and want an on-premises edition under a subscription contract — BlueSpice documents a Confluence migration path, and portability and hosting (mean 6.3) is among its strongest criteria.

Choose XWiki if

  • You need published prices before contacting the vendor — XWiki lists Starter at €773 / year for 25 users and Enterprise at €33,990 / year for 500 users, and pricing transparency leans 6 judges to 0 (means 7.0 vs 2.8); the captured pages give different figures for the starting per-user price.
  • You must move Confluence page history, users, permissions and attachments, and export to PDF, ODT, RTF, XML or HTML — portability and hosting leans 6 judges to 0 for XWiki (7.8 vs 6.3).
  • Your team self-hosts but wants the same feature set as the vendor's cloud — XWiki's verdict records a self-hosted edition with the same feature set as the cloud.
  • You need the higher knowledge governance score of the two, even though both score low there — the bench gives XWiki knowledge governance 6 judges to 0 (3.8 vs 1.7), with two judges recording no BlueSpice rating.
  • You need hosting in France — XWiki's verdict records OVHcloud hosting with subprocessors OVH and Scaleway, both in France with no third-country transfer; sovereignty leans 4 judges to 2 for XWiki (7.7 vs 7.0).

Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.

The Engineering Lead

Leads a forty-person engineering team at a Berlin fintech that writes runbooks, architecture decisions and on-call guides. Writes in Markdown, links pages to Jira tickets and Slack threads, and has moved the team's docs twice. Wants fast search, code blocks and diagrams that render, an API and webhooks to generate pages from the pipeline, AI answers that cite their pages, and a full export the next tool can read.

BlueSpice

XWiki

This judge's pick

Criterion by criterion

Editor, structure & search

BlueSpice

They ship the Wikipedia visual editor alongside a wikitext source editor, and real-time collaborative editing has existed since version 4.5. The central search runs across every wiki in a Galaxy instance with filters and indexes the contents of uploaded files, and diagrams arrive through Draw.io and BPMN integrations — close to what my runbooks and architecture decision records need. We found no public information on templates, comments and mentions, backlinks, Markdown, or AI answers that cite the pages they draw from.

XWiki

The WYSIWYG editor with Markdown, spaces with page trees and sub-wikis, real-time co-editing with comment threads and @mentions, unlimited version history, and Solr search across pages, attachments and objects with filters cover most of my team's daily loop. What I could not find on these pages is backlinks or a related-pages graph, diagrams rendering, AI answers that cite the page they came from, or search from Slack — the AI integration is listed as a Beta on the Enterprise plan with no detail published on how answers are grounded.

Verification, ownership & freshness

BlueSpice

The documented MediaWiki foundation gives pages the standard edit history, and a dashboard feature promises key content and metrics, but that is where the captured pages stop: we found no public information on page owners, review intervals with reminders, approval or read-confirmation workflows, or stale-content and duplicate analytics. The published BSI C5 audit report concerns the vendor's cloud operation, not whether the content itself stays true.

XWiki

There is unlimited version history, an out-of-the-box activity dashboard, a Pro analytics application for usage patterns, and a Change Request extension named in the Enterprise supported-extensions list. Beyond that we found no public information on per-page owners, verification with review dates and reminders, approval workflows or read confirmations for mandatory pages — which is what a fintech on-call runbook process would need before I trust it.

Permissions, SSO & administration

BlueSpice

The Permission Manager in the pro edition exposes the individual permissions of each role — the vendor walks through the editor role in a screenshot — and rights management is positioned as central to their enterprise customers. Authentication is documented against SAML, OpenID, LDAP and Kerberos, with thirteen named identity providers including Azure AD, Entra ID, Okta and Keycloak, which covers the identity stack we run. We found no public information on enforced two-factor authentication, SCIM or directory group sync, audit logs of access and permission changes, or IP restrictions.

XWiki

Permissions are granular at wiki, space, page and group level, SSO covers SAML, OIDC, CAS and Entra ID from the Business plan, LDAP and Active Directory arrive a tier lower, SCIM is Enterprise, and IP allowlisting from Business. We found no public information on an audit log of views and permission changes or enforced two-factor authentication for workspace users, which keeps it short of what an enterprise auditor would accept.

Help-center publishing & integrations

BlueSpice

The integration catalogue matches my shortlist: Slack and Teams for chat, Jira, OpenProject and YouTrack for task links, Google and Office documents embedded, GitHub, GitLab and ServiceNow, search options via OpenSearch and iFinder, and AI providers from Azure OpenAI down to a self-hosted Ollama. The Galaxy API is documented for custom integrations, custom extensions, external data retrieval and automation. For the external-facing side, we found no public information on a published help-center site, custom domains, SEO controls, webhooks or a connector for AI assistants.

XWiki

A documented RESTful API and an open-source MCP server mean my pipeline can write pages and AI assistants can read them, and the platform is positioned for public websites and external knowledge bases with custom domain support and branding via themes. But the captured pages show OpenProject as the flagship bidirectional integration; we found no public information on Slack or Teams, Jira, webhooks, help-center SEO controls or an in-app widget.

Import, export & self-hosting

BlueSpice

I have moved a team's documentation twice, and their migration story is genuinely documented: a questionnaire and planning meeting, a migration script that transfers Confluence macros and content automatically, a live macro compatibility check, a whitepaper for leaving Confluence Data Center, and an honest note that minor manual post-processing may still be needed. Self-hosting is first-class — four installation types, Docker instructions for version 5, documented patch and upgrade paths, maintenance scripts, an open-source edition, and a stated path to move cloud data to an on-premises system. We found no public information on a complete export with history in an open format, the licence name of the open-source edition, or data return and deletion when a contract ends.

XWiki

The Confluence Migration Toolkit moves data, page history, users, permissions, attachments and metadata with batch and incremental modes and a post-migration report, backed by published figures of 230+ migrations and terabyte-scale imports; export covers PDF, ODT, RTF, XML and HTML. Self-hosting is a first-class path — stated same feature set and same pricing as cloud, on Linux, Docker or Kubernetes — with open-source code, though we found no public information on the licence name or the terms for returning data on termination.

European sovereignty

BlueSpice

Hallo Welt! GmbH is registered in Regensburg with a commercial register number and VAT ID, cloud data is stated to sit in Germany with a European server provider under EU-standard hosting, and a data processing agreement with technical-organisational measures and a subcontractor list is published on the legal pages. Subprocessors are named with locations and stated safeguards — EU standard contractual clauses for Cloudflare, binding corporate rules for Zendesk — a BSI C5 audit report is published for the cloud, and a self-hosted edition keeps every page on the customer's own servers. We found no public information on the hosting provider by name, the AI model provider in the processing chain or training on customer content, and ISO 27001 is stated as planned rather than certified.

XWiki

Cloud instances run in France on OVHcloud, the subprocessor list names OVH and Scaleway both in France with no third-country transfer, and ISO 27001 is stated with its scope covering XWiki SAS hosting and support services, plus SOC 1/2/3 on the hosting infrastructure. XWiki SAS is a French company with GDPR rights and CNIL declaration published, and on-premises deployment keeps every page on our own servers; we found no public information on an AI model provider in the subprocessor chain, a no-training statement or a published data processing agreement on these pages.

Pricing transparency

BlueSpice

The captured pages document a 30-day free trial of the pro edition with all features, a free consultation, and on-premises editions sold under a subscription contract — but we found no public information on per-user or per-tier prices, including on the vendor's own price-configuration page as captured. How cost scales with editors, readers, SSO, AI or the self-hosted licence is not stated, so a buyer cannot compute an annual cost from public pages.

XWiki

Every tier is priced publicly — from Starter €773 / year for 25 users (€2.58 / user / month) to Enterprise €33,990 / year for 500 users — with user limits, storage bands by team size, sub-wiki counts, support reaction times and a feature-by-plan matrix showing what SSO, SCIM, IP allowlisting, custom domain and the AI integration cost by tier. Cloud and on-premises are stated to have the same pricing, and yearly or three-year terms with a 20% discount are published; we found no public information on reader or guest pricing, VAT treatment, or the prices of the individually purchasable Pro Apps.

Sovereignty, side by side

Dimension BlueSpice XWiki
Legal entity Not determined Not determined
Hosting location Not determined Not determined
Hosting options Not determined Not determined
Open source Not determined Not determined
Data processing agreement Not determined Not determined
Transfer impact assessment Not determined Not determined

Facts, side by side

Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.

Compliance · ISO 27001 planned · ISO/IEC 270011

captured 1 Nov 2026 · Report an error

XWiki Cloud support services · yes2

captured 1 Nov 2026 · Report an error

Product · Open source BlueSpice Galaxy is open source / free software3

captured 1 Nov 2026 · Report an error

open-source, extensible, cost-effective knowledge platform without downtime or vendor lock-in2

captured 1 Nov 2026 · Report an error

Questions about BlueSpice and XWiki

Which is better, BlueSpice or XWiki?

As of 1 Nov 2026, the panel rates both 3/5. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 0 of the 6 judges pick BlueSpice and 6 pick XWiki. Which one fits depends on the criteria that matter to you; the table on this page shows both side by side, and each judge’s reading has its own page. Both were scored by the same AI bench under the same rubric, from public evidence only, as the methodology describes.

Is BlueSpice or XWiki European?

BlueSpice is European (EU-Made). XWiki is European (EU-Made). Provenance is read from each company’s own legal pages: who builds it and who owns it.

Where do BlueSpice and XWiki store customer data?

Per the vendors’ own pages as captured — BlueSpice: Default not stated; pages mention Germany. XWiki: its pages as captured do not say.