whats-best.ai

Contract Management (CLM) · head-to-head

ContractHero vs fynk

As of 28 Oct 2026, the panel rates ContractHero 2.5/5 and fynk 3/5 in Contract Management (CLM). Weighted by what each judge cares about, 0 of the 6 judges pick ContractHero and 6 pick fynk. ContractHero scores higher on 1 of 7 criteria (AI extraction & review transparency). fynk scores higher on 6 of 7 criteria (Pricing transparency, Drafting, templates & clause library, European sovereignty, plus 3 more). Provenance — ContractHero: EU-Made; fynk: EU-Made. Ratings are the AI panel’s opinion, formed from public evidence: how scores are made.

ContractHero

EU-Made

Panel rating

Sovereignty: not determined

Full evaluation →

fynk

EU-Made

Panel rating

Sovereignty: not determined

Full evaluation →

The short answer

fynk's means lead on four criteria — authoring and templates (5.7 vs 3.0), negotiation and approval (7.2 vs 5.8), pricing transparency (6.3 vs 2.2, with ContractHero's tiers priced 'Auf Anfrage'), and sovereignty (6.0 vs 4.5) — six judges lean fynk on each. ContractHero's one lean is AI extraction control (4.8 vs 4.0; five judges, one tie), its verdict crediting a documented pipeline and a jump-to-source link on every AI-filled value. Elsewhere the benches split: repository and obligations sits 6.8 to 6.5 with four ties and two leans to fynk; integration and exit is 7.2 to 6.7, three leaning fynk, three tying. Weighted totals run 5.8–6.3 for fynk against 4.9–5.4 for ContractHero. Both list EU-only data residency; ContractHero's legal entity jurisdiction is DE, while its verdict weighs German hosting against AI and OCR providers the captured pages do not name, and fynk's verdict cites German hosting and a published subprocessor list.

Choose ContractHero if

  • You need to verify AI output against the source document: ContractHero puts a jump-to-source link on every AI-filled value, and five judges lean its way on AI extraction control (4.8 vs 4.0, one tie).
  • Your vendor review requires documentation of the AI extraction pipeline itself, which ContractHero's verdict credits — the one criterion where its bench leans.
  • Your procurement policy requires a supplier whose legal entity sits in Germany; ContractHero's legal entity jurisdiction is DE.

Choose fynk if

  • You need published prices to budget before contacting sales — fynk leads pricing transparency 6.3 to 2.2 with six judges leaning its way; ContractHero prices its tiers 'Auf Anfrage'.
  • Your team negotiates inside the product — browser redlining with per-change accept-or-reject, counterparties commenting without an account, and sequential or parallel approval chains put fynk ahead 7.2 to 5.8 with six judges leaning fynk.
  • You draft from a template and clause library — authoring and templates goes 5.7 to 3.0 with six judges leaning fynk, crediting 175 templates and a clause library; the ContractHero verdict documents drafting via a Word Add-in or templates.
  • Your data protection review weighs hosting and subprocessor disclosure — fynk's verdict cites German hosting and a published subprocessor list, and sovereignty runs 6.0 to 4.5 with six judges leaning fynk (both products list EU-only data residency).
  • You need SSO, SCIM and eIDAS signatures at all three levels — part of fynk's integration and exit case, ahead 7.2 to 6.7 with three judges leaning fynk and three tying.

Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.

The Skeptic

Has seen "AI that reads your contracts" miss a notice period buried in an amendment. Reads for an extraction accuracy nobody states, "Word integration" that loses tracked changes, "never miss a renewal" with reminders to one inbox, and an export that leaves the metadata behind.

ContractHero

fynk

This judge's pick

Criterion by criterion

Drafting, templates & clause library

ContractHero

Contract creation exists as a named module and the Professional plan lists "Vertragserstellung via Word Add-in oder Vorlagen", but the public template pages we captured are downloadable sample contracts — an NDA and a shareholders' resolution — accompanied by the vendor's own caution that a Mustervertrag is "ein Werkzeug, kein fertiges Ergebnis". Nothing published shows variables, an approved clause library, conditional clauses or self-service generation for business users, so I can only credit template-based drafting at its most basic.

fynk

175 free legal templates, an alphabetical library of real-contract clause examples, self-service generation ("Let people generate their own documents"), and contracts built from HubSpot or Salesforce deal details are all documented. We found no public information on template variables, conditional clauses, clause versioning with an owner per clause, or bilingual German–English drafting from one source, so the governed end of drafting is unevidenced.

Negotiation, redlining & approval

ContractHero

The internal approval machinery is real and unusually well documented: ordered multi-step approval groups where one member's release completes the step, conditions on category, team, status and contract value with equals and greater-than operators, rejection stopping the flow immediately, and every approval and rejection recorded with timestamp and person, with the history also visible in the change log. But the negotiation half of the criterion is unevidenced — no redlining, no version comparison, no counterparty collaboration — and the help pages state that only members of your own organisation can be assigned as approvers.

fynk

Browser redlining with accept/reject of each proposed change, version comparison ("Sieh, was deren Anwalt still geändert hat"), counterparties commenting without an account, and a named-and-timestamped edit history are documented, alongside sequential or parallel approval chains, routes stored in templates, escalation reminders and real-time approval status. We found no public information on a Word add-in or round-trip that keeps tracked changes, routing keyed to contract value or playbook deviation, or internal comments kept separate from the counterparty's view.

Repository, deadlines & obligations

ContractHero

Notice periods are genuinely captured — the AI extracts Kündigungsfristen, Laufzeiten and Vertragspartner, and the calendar shows start date, end date and notice period per contract — while full-text search reaches scanned PDFs through OCR in under two seconds and respects role and team permissions. What I read for and did not find is everything that makes a deadline system defensible: no escalation to named owners, no evidence that reminders and their acknowledgements are logged so a missed Frist can be traced afterwards, and obligations tracking with owners and status is nowhere described.

fynk

The signed copy is filed with parties, term and notice period extracted and the renewal date counting down as a reminder; reminders are configurable in timing, repeat and recipient, tasks carry a named owner and due date, and there is a document calendar plus a notice-period calculator. We found no public information on linking frameworks, amendments and orders into contract hierarchies, or on reminder acknowledgements logged so a missed deadline can be traced.

AI extraction & review transparency

ContractHero

This is the most honest extraction documentation I have seen in a while: the pipeline is spelled out (OCR, layout, chunking, prompt, instruction, filled field), every AI-filled field carries a jump-to-source link, re-analysis never overwrites existing values, and customers can tune per-field prompts and test them against a real contract with the source shown before switching them on. But the model provider is never named, the AI and OCR processing location is not stated, the privacy policy we captured says nothing about whether customer contracts train anything, and no accuracy or confidence figure appears anywhere — exactly the omission I always read for.

fynk

The pages state what the AI extracts — key dates, values, parties, obligations, clauses — and show extracted values presented for confirmation, with a documented choice between manual review and automatic apply, the analysis triggering on every upload. We found no public information naming the model provider or AI processing location, any statement on whether customer contracts train the models, per-field accuracy or confidence, or an EU AI Act position; the AI runs by default, and we found no public information on switching AI features off per account.

Integrations, signature & exit

ContractHero

SAP, MS Dynamics, Salesforce, HubSpot, SharePoint, PowerBI and Lucanet are named alongside a REST API, webhooks and Single Sign-On, and the general terms guarantee that on termination all customer data is provided for download in a generally readable and editable format. Two things hold me back from crediting more: the electronic signature is given only as "E-Signatur (FES)" with no qualified level mentioned anywhere, and the documented export is an xlsx of contract fields — custom fields included, permissions respected — plus a separate PDF bulk download, leaving versions, approvals and audit trail behind.

fynk

A REST API over HTTPS with token auth, rate limits reported per response, the account pinned to one API version with a changelog, signed and retried webhooks, an MCP server, HubSpot and Salesforce integrations, BI export to Looker, Power BI and Tableau, SAML/SSO and SCIM, and simple, advanced and qualified eIDAS signatures with a published method directory are all documented. "No lock-in, full export anytime" is claimed, but we found no public information on what that export contains — documents only, or metadata, versions, approvals and audit trail — or in what format, which is exactly the part a buyer needs at exit.

European sovereignty

ContractHero

The contracting entity is solidly European — ContractHero GmbH of Halle (Saale), entered at Berlin-Charlottenburg under HRB 223237, with a German data protection contact — and the site itself claims "Hosting in Deutschland". But the general terms permit storage "auf den Servern von ContractHero bzw. eines beauftragten Dienstleisters" plus a separate failover datacenter with no location given, no data processing agreement appears on any page we read, and the published subprocessor list covers website services only — not one AI or OCR provider that touches contract text is named.

fynk

The contracting entity is fynk GmbH at an address in Vienna with a commercial register entry at the Handelsgericht Wien, hosting is stated as ISO 27001-certified data centres in Germany, and an Art. 28 data processing agreement plus a full subcontractor list are published, naming vendors such as Spatie (Belgium), Microsoft Ireland, Pipedrive (Estonia) and Cloudflare and Google Trust Services (USA) with transfer safeguards. The published list covers website, marketing and email plumbing; we found no public information on which provider processes the contracts the AI reads, and the data centre operator behind the ISO 27001 claim is not named.

Pricing transparency

ContractHero

Three tiers are publicly outlined with their limits — 5 users and 500 contracts in Essential, unlimited contracts with 15 and then 50 users — and the terms disclose the pricing structure: a base fee plus a one-time onboarding and implementation fee, prices set in the signed offer, three months' notice of price changes, and automatic renewal with a three-month notice period. But the pricing page itself answers "Auf Anfrage", so a buyer cannot derive a single euro of annual cost, and add-on prices for users, companies and modules, the onboarding fee and VAT treatment are all unstated.

fynk

Three of four tiers carry public per-user monthly prices (Kostenlos €0, Essential €19 pro Nutzer/Monat, Business €39 pro Nutzer/Monat) with AI credits per user, exact credit top-up packages (€10, €75, €200), VAT excluded stated, a 14-day trial without credit card, and signatures with no envelope fee. The Pro tier is "Individuell", the annual saving is "BIS ZU 34%" rather than a computable figure, and we found no public information on onboarding or migration fees or the exact minimum term, so a full annual invoice is not derivable from public pages alone.

Sovereignty, side by side

Dimension ContractHero fynk
Legal entity Not determined Not determined
Ownership Not determined Not determined
Data residency Not determined Not determined
Subprocessors Not determined Not determined

Facts, side by side

Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.

Legal · Entity name Halle (Saale) · ContractHero GmbH · Reichardtstraße 3 · Deutschland1

captured 1 Oct 2026 · Report an error

fynk GmbH · Heinrichsgasse 2/1/8, 1010 Wien, Österreich2

captured 13 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Product · Audit trail yes3

captured 1 Oct 2026 · Report an error

yes4

captured 13 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Product · Features listed KI-Analyse · Verträge verwalten · Verträge erstellen · Fristen & Freigaben · Digitale Signatur · Reporting & Insights · Integrationen & API1

captured 1 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Redlining · User roles & access management · AI · Document archive5

captured 13 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Product · Trial yes6

captured 1 Oct 2026 · Report an error

yes7

captured 1 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Questions about ContractHero and fynk

Which is better, ContractHero or fynk?

As of 28 Oct 2026, the panel rates fynk higher: 3/5 against 2.5/5. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 0 of the 6 judges pick ContractHero and 6 pick fynk. Which one fits depends on the criteria that matter to you; the table on this page shows both side by side, and each judge’s reading has its own page. Both were scored by the same AI bench under the same rubric, from public evidence only, as the methodology describes.

Is ContractHero or fynk European?

ContractHero is European (EU-Made). fynk is European (EU-Made). Provenance is read from each company’s own legal pages: who builds it and who owns it.

Where do ContractHero and fynk store customer data?

Per the vendors’ own pages as captured — ContractHero: Default not stated; pages mention Germany. fynk: its pages as captured do not say.

Do ContractHero and fynk have a free plan?

As of 28 Oct 2026, fynk’s own pages state a free plan; ContractHero’s pages as captured do not. Each product page links the pricing page it was read from.