As of 1 Nov 2026, the panel rates Confluence 3/5 and Notion Wikis 3/5 in Knowledge Base & Wiki. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 2 of the 6 judges pick Confluence and 4 pick Notion Wikis. Confluence scores higher on 4 of 7 criteria (Editor, structure & search, European sovereignty, Help-center publishing & integrations, plus 1 more). Notion Wikis scores higher on 3 of 7 criteria (Verification, ownership & freshness, Permissions, SSO & administration and Pricing transparency). Provenance — Confluence: Rest of world; Notion Wikis: Rest of world, United States. Ratings are the AI panel’s opinion, formed from public evidence: how scores are made.
Confluence and Notion Wikis split this panel. Confluence's means run higher on authoring and search (7.2 vs 6.7; three judges lean Confluence, none Notion Wikis), publishing and integrations (6.8 vs 6.5), portability and hosting (6.2 vs 6.0) and sovereignty (5.2 vs 4.8, leaning Confluence 3-2). Notion Wikis' means run higher on knowledge governance (6.0 vs 4.7; four judges lean Notion Wikis, none Confluence), access control (7.7 vs 7.2) and pricing transparency (6.0 vs 5.7). The governance gap traces to a genuine split on Confluence: four judges scored 4, declining to count the approval workflow they found in developer documentation last updated in 2018; two scored 6. Weighted totals divide 4-2 — Notion Wikis ahead for the operations lead, IT administrator, engineering lead and skeptic; Confluence for the support knowledge manager and quality manager. Notion Wikis' legal entity jurisdiction is listed as US; Confluence's sovereignty attributes are listed as unknown.
Choose Confluence if
You need live co-editing and full-text search that reaches attached files, Google Drive and SharePoint — authoring and search leans Confluence three judges to none (means 7.2 vs 6.7).
Your wiki content has to flow out to other tools — publishing and integrations leans Confluence two judges to none, with four ties (6.8 vs 6.5).
You want a self-managed edition on the table — portability and hosting leans Confluence one judge to none with five ties, and the verdict records the self-managed Data Center edition, whose life ends March 28, 2029.
A US contracting entity is a blocker for you — Notion Wikis' legal entity jurisdiction is listed as US, and the sovereignty criterion leans Confluence three judges to two (5.2 vs 4.8).
Your buyer group looks like the support knowledge manager or the quality manager — their weighted totals favor Confluence, 6.2 vs 6.1 and 6.5 vs 6.1.
Choose Notion Wikis if
You need knowledge governance you can show auditors — knowledge governance leans Notion Wikis four judges to none (6.0 vs 4.7), while four Confluence judges declined to count its approval-workflow evidence, found in developer documentation last updated in 2018.
Your team must enforce single sign-on exclusively and provision accounts automatically — Notion Wikis documents SAML 2.0 with any identity provider, Only SAML SSO login enforcement and SCIM provisioning; access control leans its way three judges to none (7.7 vs 7.2).
Your compliance stack needs the wiki audit log piped onward — Notion Wikis documents an audit log that can feed a SIEM or DLP, part of the access-control criterion it leads three judges to none.
Comparing published prices is your gating step — pricing transparency leans Notion Wikis two judges to none, with four ties (6.0 vs 5.7).
Your buyer group mirrors the IT administrator or engineering lead — weighted totals put Notion Wikis ahead for both, 6.6 vs 5.9 and 6.6 vs 6.2.
Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.
The Skeptic
Has migrated a wiki whose "export" turned out to be one PDF per page, watched a self-hosted edition announced as retired with two years' notice, and read "your data is never used for training" above a subprocessor list naming two AI providers. Asks what a full export contains, which model reads the pages and where, whether readers are billed like editors — and what leaving would cost.
Confluence
Notion Wikis
This judge's pick
Criterion by criterion
Editor, structure & search
Confluence
The editor with macros and databases, spaces with a nested content tree, real-time co-editing with comments and mentions, version history with revert, and full-text search that reaches attached files are all documented, and search extends into Google Drive and SharePoint with related pages and whiteboards on top. What I could not find is AI answers naming the pages they drew on, Markdown support (wiki markup is legacy-editor only), or template variables — so I stop short of the top band.
Notion Wikis
Pages, teamspaces with their own permission levels, a gallery of 30,000+ templates, @-mentions, synced blocks and search with filters are documented, and enterprise search reaches across Slack, Google Drive and GitHub — though the vendor's own page concedes AI search "cannot reliably infer which doc your org treats as a source of truth". We found no public information on backlinks or a link graph, diagrams, or AI answers that cite the source pages they draw on.
Verification, ownership & freshness
Confluence
History with compare-and-revert, audit logs exportable as a CSV capped at 10,000 activities over 180 days, analytics at Premium, and a live-docs-to-published-page step are shown; per-page owners, review dates with reminders, and read confirmations are not described anywhere I read. The approval workflow I did find is a 2018 developer prototype whose own text admits that without core changes the best it can do is show users a banner — I will not count a prototype as governance.
Notion Wikis
The verification loop is genuinely documented: a page can be verified for a set period or indefinitely, when it lapses the owner is notified in the Notion inbox and by email, and verified pages rank higher in search and AI responses. Page analytics show total and unique views plus who created, edited or viewed a page when, and Enterprise adds a detailed audit log that can feed a SIEM. We found no public information on approval workflows with reviewers, read confirmations, or automatic detection of stale or duplicate content — the search-query cleanup advice on the enterprise-search page is editorial guidance, not a product feature.
Permissions, SSO & administration
Confluence
Space and page permissions, SAML single sign-on with enforced two-step verification and automated user provisioning through Atlassian Guard, IP allowlisting, multiple identity providers, a detailed guest model, and an audit log with CSV export and an API are documented. Two things keep me below the top: single sign-on rides on a separate Guard subscription — the Free plan allows no space or page permission settings at all — and nothing I read shows search and AI answers honouring the permission model.
Notion Wikis
SAML 2.0 with any identity provider, enforcement of SAML-only login, just-in-time provisioning, SCIM user and group provisioning, six page permission levels with subpage inheritance, teamspace-level permissions, guest access by email with plan limits, expiring public links, and an Enterprise audit log with SIEM and DLP integration are all documented. The gaps an auditor would probe: enforcement of two-factor authentication is not stated as enforceable, guests in a SAML-enabled workspace cannot log in via SSO, and we found no public information on IP-based restrictions.
Help-center publishing & integrations
Confluence
Entire spaces can be opened to anyone on the internet, knowledge-base articles can be published in multiple languages, Jira Service Management provides self-service support, and there is a marketplace of hundreds of apps, a documented REST API v2 with a downloadable OpenAPI spec, webhooks, and an MCP server endpoint for AI assistants. I found no public information on custom domains, SEO controls, an in-product widget, or ticket-deflection figures, so I sit just below the top band.
Notion Wikis
Any page publishes as a site on a notion.site domain with a paid custom-domain add-on ($10 per month, or $8 per month with annual billing), SEO title and description editing, search-engine indexing, embedding of published pages elsewhere, webhooks, a JavaScript SDK and an MCP server — the plumbing is strong. The help-center side thins out: password protection is answered "not at the moment", publishing exposes contributor names, profile photos and email addresses in page metadata, and we found no public information on multilingual publishing, logged-in customer access with analytics, an in-product widget, or help-desk ticket deflection.
Import, export & self-hosting
Confluence
The free Cloud Migration Assistant carries space data, users, attachments and Marketplace apps with pre- and post-migration reports, a space export and import path exists, the REST API v2 covers pages, spaces, versions and attachments, and deletion of customer data after termination is contractual. But no captured page states what a full export contains or in what format, and the self-managed Data Center edition has a published end of life on March 28, 2029, when subscriptions and Marketplace apps expire — I have lived through exactly that notice, and it changes what self-hosting here is worth.
Notion Wikis
Arriving is well documented — a Confluence importer for cloud and server instances keeping hierarchy, attachments, comments and user mapping up to about 50,000 pages or 30GB, plus Word, Markdown, HTML, PDF, CSV, ZIP, Evernote and Trello — but Confluence permissions are explicitly not imported, and the migration lands everything private to whoever ran it. Leaving exists — a whole-workspace export to HTML, Markdown and CSV including uploaded files, with an Enterprise beta Admin API to schedule it — yet the export excludes pages the exporter cannot access, admins can disable exporting entirely, the download link expires after 7 days, and the vendor states "You can't instantly recreate your workspace by reuploading your exported workspace content". We found no public information on export of page history, a self-hosted or open-source edition, or data return and deletion terms after cancellation.
European sovereignty
Confluence
The contracting entity is Atlassian Pty Ltd, incorporated in Australia and addressed in San Francisco, processing is global by default, and data residency is an opt-in feature covering only "certain (in-scope) data". Credit where due: a data processing agreement with Irish-law clauses is published, and the sub-processor list names the AI providers — OpenAI in the USA, AWS Bedrock, Google Vertex — alongside Cloudflare and a long, US-heavy tail, while the privacy policy reserves machine-learning model training under legitimate interests. That is transparency about a non-European chain, not a European chain.
Notion Wikis
The contracting entity is Notion Labs, Inc. of San Francisco, hosting is on Amazon Web Services with the default the United States, and EU residency in Frankfurt or Ireland is an Enterprise-only opt-in that excludes Account Information, Usage Data, Notion Calendar, Notion Mail, Beta Services and anything processed by subprocessors — including the LLM providers — from the selected region. To its credit the subprocessor list is published with locations and names the AI providers (OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and others, several with location given only as "Global"), training on customer data is opt-in-only, a DPA covering EU and UK GDPR is published, and SOC 2 Type 2 plus ISO 27001, 27701, 27017, 27018 and BSI C5 are stated. There is no European contracting entity and the EU region does not cover the AI chain, so this lands at residency-available-but-top-tier-only.
Pricing transparency
Confluence
Free ($0, up to 10 users, 2 GB), Standard at $5.78 per user / month and Premium at $11.16 per user / month are public, with storage tiers, Rovo credits, automation steps per plan, annual savings of up to 17%, and guests free up to five per paid user — better detail than most. But Enterprise pricing is contact-sales, single sign-on sits in a separately sold Guard subscription whose price I never saw, and I found no public information on the self-managed edition's licence or support cost or on VAT treatment.
Notion Wikis
Free (€0 per member / month), Plus (€9.50 per member / month) and Business (€19.50 per member / month) are public with their inclusions — guests free but limited to invited pages (10 external guests on Free), file-upload limits per plan, page history 7 to 90 days, SAML SSO from Business — and the add-ons are priced: custom domain at $10 per month (or $8 per month with annual billing) and Notion AI at $10 per 1,000 monthly credits. What a buyer still cannot compute: the Enterprise tier is "Custom pricing" and premium support is likewise "Custom" — and that is precisely where EU data residency, SCIM and the audit log sit — while which plans include the 1,500 Standard and 500 Select monthly credits is not stated. We found no public information on minimum seats, contract term or VAT treatment.
Sovereignty, side by side
Dimension
Confluence
Notion Wikis
Legal entity
Not determined
Incorporated in US
Hosting location
Not determined
Not determined
Hosting options
Not determined
Not determined
Open source
Not determined
Not determined
Data processing agreement
Not determined
Not determined
Transfer impact assessment
Not determined
Not determined
Facts, side by side
Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.
Cloudflare, Ltd. · Content delivery network provider; Hosting provider for the Remote Model Context Protocol (MCP) Server · Customer traffic is processed globally at the data center closest to the end user.7
As of 1 Nov 2026, the panel rates both 3/5. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 2 of the 6 judges pick Confluence and 4 pick Notion Wikis. Which one fits depends on the criteria that matter to you; the table on this page shows both side by side, and each judge’s reading has its own page. Both were scored by the same AI bench under the same rubric, from public evidence only, as the methodology describes.
Is Confluence or Notion Wikis European?
Confluence is not European by provenance (Rest of world). Notion Wikis is not European by provenance (Rest of world, United States). Provenance is read from each company’s own legal pages: who builds it and who owns it.
Do Confluence and Notion Wikis have a free plan?
As of 1 Nov 2026, both vendors’ own pages state a free plan. Each product page links the pricing page it was read from.