As of 28 Oct 2026, the panel rates Docusign eSignature 3/5 and Skribble 3/5 in E-Signature. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 1 of the 6 judges picks Docusign eSignature and 5 pick Skribble. Docusign eSignature scores higher on 3 of 7 criteria (Signing workflow & signer experience, Integrations & API and Evidence, validation & retention). Skribble scores higher on 4 of 7 criteria (European sovereignty, Pricing transparency, eIDAS levels & trust services, plus 1 more). Provenance — Docusign eSignature: Rest of world; Skribble: UK / wider Europe. Ratings are the AI panel’s opinion, formed from public evidence: how scores are made.
Docusign eSignature and Skribble split this bench along two lines. Docusign eSignature leads signing workflow at 7.7 vs 5.8 (5 judges lean Docusign, 0 Skribble, 1 tie) and integration and API at 6.7 vs 6.2 (4 lean Docusign, 1 Skribble). Skribble leads sovereignty at 6.5 vs 4.2, the widest gap: 6 judges lean Skribble, 0 lean Docusign. Its capture says documents are hosted in Swiss or German data centres chosen at setup; Docusign's says data is 'likely' stored in Australia, the United States, the EU and/or Canada, with EU data residency a sales contact. Skribble edges signature levels (6.7 vs 6.5) and pricing transparency (6.2 vs 5.8). Evidence and retention is weakest for both at 3.8 vs 3.5, and neither verdict found public information on either. Weighted totals favor Skribble on five judges; Docusign eSignature takes the skeptic at 5.7 vs 5.2. The lean flips by judge and criterion.
Choose Docusign eSignature if
You need reusable templates, conditional fields, bulk send and delegated signing for high-volume workflows — signing workflow is 7.7 vs 5.8, with 5 judges leaning Docusign eSignature and 0 leaning Skribble.
Your team builds against an API and needs documented connectors — integration and API is 6.7 vs 6.2, with 4 judges leaning Docusign eSignature vs 1 for Skribble.
You sign across many languages and must document accessibility — the verdict lists 44+ signing languages and WCAG 2.0 Level AA.
You want an automatically generated audit trail and tamper-proof certificates — evidence and retention is 3.8 vs 3.5, with 3 judges leaning Docusign eSignature vs 1 for Skribble.
Choose Skribble if
You need documents hosted in Swiss or German data centres chosen at setup — sovereignty is 6.5 vs 4.2, with 6 judges leaning Skribble and 0 leaning Docusign eSignature.
You operate in Europe and need ZertES alongside the three eIDAS levels mapped to plans — signature levels is 6.7 vs 6.5, with 2 judges leaning Skribble vs 1 for Docusign eSignature.
You need published prices before talking to sales — Skribble lists Starter at 0 EUR per month (pay per use) and Pro at 6 EUR per month (per user, billed annually); pricing transparency is 6.2 vs 5.8.
You want identification fees published up front — identity verification is 6.2 vs 6.0, with 2 judges leaning Skribble vs 1 for Docusign eSignature.
Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.
The Revenue Operations Lead
Measures how long a quote takes to come back signed and where it stalls. Wants signing from inside the CRM, templates sales cannot break, reminders and signing order that run themselves, and a signer experience that needs no account, no app and no explanation.
Docusign eSignature
Skribble
This judge's pick
Criterion by criterion
eIDAS levels & trust services
Docusign eSignature
All three eIDAS levels are documented by name — simple signatures on every plan, advanced signatures on the higher plans and qualified signatures as an add-on to the e-signature plans — and Docusign names itself as a registered qualified trust service provider in Europe. That is a stronger story than most, but we found no public information on a linked EU Trust List entry, qualified electronic seals, Swiss ZertES coverage, or the signature level being shown in the signed document and its evidence.
Skribble
Simple, advanced and qualified signatures are all sold by name under eIDAS and ZertES with plan quotas spelled out: unlimited simple signatures on every plan, 120 advanced or qualified signatures a year on Pro, and company seals on request for the upper tiers. Skribble states plainly that it is not itself a trust service provider and delivers the certified components through partners, and I found no public information naming the qualified provider with its trust-list entry or showing the level reached in the finished document and its evidence.
Signer identification
Docusign eSignature
Methods are named and modern: one-time passcodes, phone authentication, automatic validation of government identity documents, biometric liveness via video selfies, signers reusing an existing CLEAR or ID.me account, an identity wallet to re-apply a completed verification on later agreements, and a proof file for audits. What the public pages do not show is which method applies to which signature level in which country, who performs the identification, or what happens to ID data afterwards — for a team sending into Germany versus France that is the question that decides cycle time.
Skribble
The ladder is documented and honest: simple is email-access only, advanced unlocks with a mobile number, and qualified runs on an ID scan plus selfie video — with live video ident guided by the partner's trained staff, self-service recording or an on-site visit, a Swiss eID (swiyu) question addressed, and ZertES or eIDAS selectable per identification package. What stalls it: I found no public information on the countries and accepted ID documents per method, on the identification provider beyond partner references and a Swisscom fallback, or on retention and deletion of ID data.
Signing workflow & signer experience
Docusign eSignature
The core of a revenue signing flow is documented: reusable team templates, conditional fields, delegated signing, bulk send, custom branding, mobile-optimized web forms with drag-and-drop building and versioning, signing in 44+ languages, and WCAG 2.0 AA listed on the plans. Signing order only appears in passing (automatic routing in the Word integration), and we found no public information on signer roles, parallel versus sequential routing, substitute signers or a published accessibility conformance statement.
Skribble
Deal velocity is mostly there: sender-set signing order, automatic reminders with an admin-chosen cadence of every three days, weekly or every two weeks on Team and above, bulk document sending on the paid tiers, and a signer experience with no account, no app and no login — invitation by email, link or QR code, signing in the browser in three steps with status tracked throughout. For a sales organisation I still miss the backbone: I found no public information on templates, field placement, conditional fields, delegation or signer accessibility.
Evidence, validation & retention
Docusign eSignature
An audit trail is automatically generated and stored for every agreement and identity checks compile into a proof file, which is the minimum I need. But we found no public information on what the audit trail records, whether it attaches to or embeds in the signed PDF, whether timestamps are qualified or long-term validation is supported, or how long documents and evidence are retained — the only statement is the generic privacy-policy line that data is kept no longer than necessary.
Skribble
For evidence I can see AATL-conformant signatures on every plan, a paid validation and conversion service, a free E-Signature Validator tool and a guide on which evidential standard fits which document. I found no public information on an audit trail or certificate of completion — contents, timestamps, long-term validation — and the only retention statement on the captured pages is that accounts, data and documents are deleted when the contract ends.
Integrations & API
Docusign eSignature
Signing from the systems where revenue closes is well covered: connectors for Word, Outlook, Teams, SharePoint, Power Automate and Dynamics 365, Salesforce and NetSuite named behind a sales conversation, Google Drive, OneDrive, Dropbox and Box on every plan, an App Center with more than 1,000 partner integrations, a free developer account and embeddable web forms with API pre-population. We found no public information on webhooks, SDKs or published rate limits, so I could not confirm from public pages that the API covers every signature level.
Skribble
Signing where the quote lives is real: an open, documented REST API with an immediately testable demo key and all three signature levels, an upload-order-track workflow, and prebuilt connectors for Microsoft 365, Google Drive, Salesforce and SAP on Pro and Scale — Salesforce means my reps close without leaving the CRM. I found no public information on webhooks, embedded signing in our own application, SDKs or rate limits.
European sovereignty
Docusign eSignature
The contracting entity is Docusign, Inc. of San Francisco, the privacy policy says data is likely hosted across Australia, the United States, the EU and Canada with transfers to some twenty countries, and EU data residency appears on the pricing page only as a contact-sales line. Proven European elements exist — an EMEA entity in Dublin, a French controller, data centres in three EU countries and Docusign's own EU trust-service-provider status — but we found no public information on ownership, hosting providers or subprocessor locations; the only third parties named are US app-store billing intermediaries and a marketing data vendor.
Skribble
The core is European: you contract with a Zurich AG or a Karlsruhe GmbH depending on the portal, documents are hosted exclusively in German or Swiss ISO 27001 data centres selected at setup, a DPA is published, and the privacy policy names each subprocessor with its location. I found no public information on ownership behind the entities, and several ancillary providers such as Cloudflare, Clay Labs and Make.com are US companies, so the chain is European at its core but not end to end.
Pricing transparency
Docusign eSignature
Personal at 9 € per month with 5 envelopes per month, Standard at 23 € per user per month with 100 envelopes per user per year and Business Pro at 38 € per user per month are public with the billing period stated, identity checks are listed ab 2,35 € per check, and renewal, overage, the five-business-day cancellation notice and exclusive-of-tax terms are published. A buyer still cannot compute a qualified-signature volume: the QES add-on carries no public price, the Business Pro envelope limit is not stated, the identity-verification page itself says 'contact sales', plans and prices may apply to new customers only, and the captured pages give different figures on refunds.
Skribble
Most of a budget is computable from public pages: Starter at 0 EUR per month pay-per-use with 2 simple signatures free, Pro at 6 EUR per month per user billed annually with unlimited simple and 120 advanced or qualified signatures a year, identification packages at 15,50 € per eIDAS identification or CHF 37 per ZertES identification with a minimum of 50, and billing periods, notice periods and termination fees all in the terms. Scale and Enterprise are on request only, I found no public price for the Team plan on the captured pages, and no per-signature overage price or separate API pricing to cost a full month of volume.
Sovereignty, side by side
Dimension
Docusign eSignature
Skribble
Legal entity
Not determined
Not determined
Ownership
Not determined
Not determined
Data residency
Not determined
Not determined
Subprocessors
US CLOUD Act reach
US CLOUD Act reach
Facts, side by side
Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.
As of 28 Oct 2026, the panel rates both 3/5. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 1 of the 6 judges picks Docusign eSignature and 5 pick Skribble. Which one fits depends on the criteria that matter to you; the table on this page shows both side by side, and each judge’s reading has its own page. Both were scored by the same AI bench under the same rubric, from public evidence only, as the methodology describes.
Is Docusign eSignature or Skribble European?
Docusign eSignature is not European by provenance (Rest of world). Skribble is European (UK / wider Europe). Provenance is read from each company’s own legal pages: who builds it and who owns it.
Where do Docusign eSignature and Skribble store customer data?
Per the vendors’ own pages as captured — Docusign eSignature: its pages as captured do not say. Skribble: Default not stated; pages mention Germany and Switzerland.