As of 28 Oct 2026, the panel rates Docusign eSignature 3/5 and Skribble 3/5 in E-Signature. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 1 of the 6 judges picks Docusign eSignature and 5 pick Skribble. Docusign eSignature scores higher on 3 of 7 criteria (Signing workflow & signer experience, Integrations & API and Evidence, validation & retention). Skribble scores higher on 4 of 7 criteria (European sovereignty, Pricing transparency, eIDAS levels & trust services, plus 1 more). Provenance — Docusign eSignature: Rest of world; Skribble: UK / wider Europe. Ratings are the AI panel’s opinion, formed from public evidence: how scores are made.
Docusign eSignature and Skribble split this bench along two lines. Docusign eSignature leads signing workflow at 7.7 vs 5.8 (5 judges lean Docusign, 0 Skribble, 1 tie) and integration and API at 6.7 vs 6.2 (4 lean Docusign, 1 Skribble). Skribble leads sovereignty at 6.5 vs 4.2, the widest gap: 6 judges lean Skribble, 0 lean Docusign. Its capture says documents are hosted in Swiss or German data centres chosen at setup; Docusign's says data is 'likely' stored in Australia, the United States, the EU and/or Canada, with EU data residency a sales contact. Skribble edges signature levels (6.7 vs 6.5) and pricing transparency (6.2 vs 5.8). Evidence and retention is weakest for both at 3.8 vs 3.5, and neither verdict found public information on either. Weighted totals favor Skribble on five judges; Docusign eSignature takes the skeptic at 5.7 vs 5.2. The lean flips by judge and criterion.
Choose Docusign eSignature if
You need reusable templates, conditional fields, bulk send and delegated signing for high-volume workflows — signing workflow is 7.7 vs 5.8, with 5 judges leaning Docusign eSignature and 0 leaning Skribble.
Your team builds against an API and needs documented connectors — integration and API is 6.7 vs 6.2, with 4 judges leaning Docusign eSignature vs 1 for Skribble.
You sign across many languages and must document accessibility — the verdict lists 44+ signing languages and WCAG 2.0 Level AA.
You want an automatically generated audit trail and tamper-proof certificates — evidence and retention is 3.8 vs 3.5, with 3 judges leaning Docusign eSignature vs 1 for Skribble.
Choose Skribble if
You need documents hosted in Swiss or German data centres chosen at setup — sovereignty is 6.5 vs 4.2, with 6 judges leaning Skribble and 0 leaning Docusign eSignature.
You operate in Europe and need ZertES alongside the three eIDAS levels mapped to plans — signature levels is 6.7 vs 6.5, with 2 judges leaning Skribble vs 1 for Docusign eSignature.
You need published prices before talking to sales — Skribble lists Starter at 0 EUR per month (pay per use) and Pro at 6 EUR per month (per user, billed annually); pricing transparency is 6.2 vs 5.8.
You want identification fees published up front — identity verification is 6.2 vs 6.0, with 2 judges leaning Skribble vs 1 for Docusign eSignature.
Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.
The Skeptic
Knows "legally binding" usually means a simple signature. Reads for the level the default plan actually signs at, the QTSP the provider does not operate itself, the per-QES and ident fees on top of the plan, the envelope limit, and "eIDAS-compliant" from a provider that names no trust service at all.
Docusign eSignature
This judge's pick
Skribble
Criterion by criterion
eIDAS levels & trust services
Docusign eSignature
All three levels are named and mapped to plans: simple signatures on every plan, advanced in higher plans, qualified as an add-on, and Docusign describes itself as 'a registered Qualified Trust Service Provider (QTSP) in Europe'. We found no public information linking that provider to its EU Trust List entry, on per-country availability of qualified signatures, ZertES, or qualified seals, and nothing showing the achieved level in the signed document or audit trail.
Skribble
All three levels are named, tied to plans (unlimited simple signatures, 120 advanced/qualified per year in Pro) and mapped to document types with examples, under both eIDAS and ZertES, with seals on request. But the terms state plainly that Skribble is itself no trust service provider and leaves the qualified service to partners that go unnamed; no qualified trust service provider is named, no EU Trust List entry is linked, and we found no public information on which level the signed document itself bears.
Signer identification
Docusign eSignature
Methods are listed by name — one-time passwords, phone authentication, automatic validation of most government-issued identity documents, video-selfie liveness with randomized facial movements, CLEAR and ID.me, an identity wallet for repeat signers, and AI-driven identity proofing for the qualified level — with an ID-check add-on 'Ab 2,35 €/Ausweisüberprüfung'. We found no public information on the countries each method covers, on who performs the qualified-level identification, or on retention and deletion of ID data, and the identification page itself says 'Contact sales to add identity verification to your plan'.
Skribble
The terms say a simple signature rests on email access alone with no further identity check; the advanced level adds a mobile number, and the qualified level runs through online identification (ID scan plus selfie video), a live video call with the identification partner's staff, or an onsite visit, selectable under Swiss or EU law, with Swisscom appearing only as the page users without an ident package are redirected to. The identification partner itself goes unnamed on these pages, accepted ID documents and countries are not listed, and we found no public information on retention or deletion of identification data.
Signing workflow & signer experience
Docusign eSignature
Public pages show reusable templates, conditional fields, drag-and-drop web forms embeddable in customers' applications, bulk send, delegated signing, custom branding, 44+ signing languages and WCAG 2.0 Level AA, and Microsoft integrations route documents 'automatically routed to the right people in the right order' with real-time status updates. We found no public information on in-person signing or mixing signature levels within one process.
Skribble
Signers sign in the browser without login or app, invitations arrive by email, link or QR code, a signing order can be fixed, automatic reminders run on the paid plans with a choice of interval, and several documents can be signed at once from Team upward. The captured pages give no description of templates or field placement, and roles, conditional fields, delegation and signer accessibility are not described either.
Evidence, validation & retention
Docusign eSignature
An audit trail is 'automatically generated and stored' for every agreement, tamper-proof certificates accompany every advanced signature, and identity checks compile a proof file — but we found no public information on the audit trail's contents, qualified timestamps, long-term validation, a validation report, or how long signed documents and their records are kept.
Skribble
The pages describe signatures as AATL-conform on every plan, offer a public e-signature validator and paid validation services, and state that accounts and documents are deleted when the contract ends. We found no public information on an audit trail, a certificate of completion, timestamps, long-term validation, or how long signed documents and their evidence are retained.
Integrations & API
Docusign eSignature
The plans from Standard up include a 'branchenführende API', a free developer account with a developer centre, cloud-storage connectors and Slack, Teams, Zoom and Stripe, and each Microsoft connector (Word, Outlook, Teams, SharePoint, Power Automate, Dynamics 365) is described with its scope; Salesforce, Dynamics and NetSuite remain sales conversations. We found no public information on webhooks, published rate limits, SDKs, or API access to qualified signatures.
Skribble
An open REST API is documented with a demo key that is immediately testable, covers all three signature levels and tracks status, and named connectors exist for Microsoft 365, Google Drive, SAP and Salesforce from the Pro plan upward. We found no public information on webhooks, embedded signing in a customer's own application, SDKs, or published rate limits.
European sovereignty
Docusign eSignature
The controller is Docusign, Inc. of San Francisco, personal data is 'likely' stored in Australia, the United States, the EU and/or Canada, EU data residency appears on the plans page only as 'Vertrieb kontaktieren', and binding corporate rules exist precisely to move EEA data to Docusign outside the EEA. European elements are proven — a Dublin EMEA entity, data centres across three EU countries, the registered-European-QTSP claim and ISO 27001 — but we found no public information on a subprocessor list with locations or on the ownership chain.
Skribble
The contracting entities are Skribble AG in Zurich and Skribble Deutschland GmbH in Karlsruhe — the booking URL decides which one you get — documents are stated to be hosted in Swiss or German data centres chosen at setup with no migration between them afterwards, a DPA is published, ISO 27001 is claimed, and the privacy policy names subprocessors with addresses, including US providers (Cloudflare, Clay Labs, Make.com, Chargebee) around the core signing stack. No EU qualified trust service provider appears — the vendor states it operates no trust service itself — the data centres go unnamed beyond country, and we found no public information on ownership.
Pricing transparency
Docusign eSignature
Personal at 9 €/month with 5 envelopes per month, Standard at 23 €/month per user with 100 envelopes per user per year, and Business Pro at 38 €/month per user are public with annual billing stated, plus the ID-check add-on 'Ab 2,35 €/Ausweisüberprüfung'. But the qualified-signature add-on carries no public price, the identification page says 'Contact sales to add identity verification to your plan', overage fees are reserved without a rate, API plans are not priced publicly, and prices may change without notice at renewal.
Skribble
Starter is listed at 0 EUR pay per use with 2 simple signatures free, Pro at 6 EUR per month (per user, billed annually) with unlimited simple and 120 advanced/qualified signatures per year, and identification carries an exact published price: 15,50€ pro Identifikation (mindestens 50 Identifikationen) under eIDAS and CHF 37 pro Identifikation (mindestens 50 Identifikationen) under ZertES, charged only when successful. But the per-signature rate of the pay-per-use model is not stated, extra advanced/qualified signatures are owed separately without a figure, the Team plan carries no price on the captured pages, Scale is on request, and all prices are exclusive of VAT.
Sovereignty, side by side
Dimension
Docusign eSignature
Skribble
Legal entity
Not determined
Not determined
Ownership
Not determined
Not determined
Data residency
Not determined
Not determined
Subprocessors
US CLOUD Act reach
US CLOUD Act reach
Facts, side by side
Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.
As of 28 Oct 2026, the panel rates both 3/5. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 1 of the 6 judges picks Docusign eSignature and 5 pick Skribble. Which one fits depends on the criteria that matter to you; the table on this page shows both side by side, and each judge’s reading has its own page. Both were scored by the same AI bench under the same rubric, from public evidence only, as the methodology describes.
Is Docusign eSignature or Skribble European?
Docusign eSignature is not European by provenance (Rest of world). Skribble is European (UK / wider Europe). Provenance is read from each company’s own legal pages: who builds it and who owns it.
Where do Docusign eSignature and Skribble store customer data?
Per the vendors’ own pages as captured — Docusign eSignature: its pages as captured do not say. Skribble: Default not stated; pages mention Germany and Switzerland.