whats-best.ai
Search Sign in

HR Management · head-to-head

Factorial vs HiBob

As of 20 Oct 2026, the panel rates Factorial 1.5/5 and HiBob 2/5 in HR Management. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 0 of the 6 judges pick Factorial and 5 pick HiBob, 1 calls it a tie. Factorial scores higher on 2 of 7 criteria (Pricing transparency and Employee data protection & co-determination). HiBob scores higher on 5 of 7 criteria (Payroll handoff, Recruiting & onboarding, Absence & working-time, plus 2 more). Provenance — Factorial: EU-Made; HiBob: Rest of world. Ratings are the AI panel’s opinion, formed from public evidence: how scores are made.

Factorial

EU-Made

Panel rating

Sovereignty: not determined

Full evaluation →

HiBob

Rest of world

Panel rating

Sovereignty: not determined

Full evaluation →

The written short answer is being updated after a re-evaluation. The scores below are current.

Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.

The IT Integrator

Owns identity and has to make the HR system the source of truth for accounts. Wants SCIM provisioning, SSO that is not an enterprise upsell, and an API with documentation rather than a partner form. Judges onboarding by whether it can create the account, not by whether it has a checklist.

Factorial

HiBob

This judge's pick

Criterion by criterion

Digital personnel file & data model

Factorial

Document-management pages sit in the vendor's captured sitemap, so a personnel file is at least marketed, but we found no public information on org structure, custom fields, or effective-dated change and salary history. We also found no public information on a documented API or an export that reproduces the record, and without that I cannot make this file the source of truth I would drive accounts from.

HiBob

The employee database page shows access rights definable for pre-approved stakeholders and self-service, and other pages show contracts, IDs and tax forms stored on the profile, automatic org chart and headcount updates, and e-signature in the core platform. We found no public information on custom fields, effective-dated change history, or field-level permissions, so this reads as a solid file without the audited history I want from a source of truth.

Payroll handoff

Factorial

Dedicated pages for a DATEV integration exist in the vendor's integrations area, so a named payroll path is marketed rather than absent. We found no public information on the export format, automation, mid-month joiners and leavers, or a pre-payroll check, so I cannot tell how much of the month closes without re-typing.

HiBob

The platform pages describe a Payroll Hub exchanging data with third-party payroll providers through API-based integrations in real time or near real time, plug-and-play with multiple providers, absences and attendances flowing correctly into payroll, plus native UK and US payroll on the same platform with HMRC recognition, P45 collection, tax code sync and year-end reporting. We found no public information naming any third-party payroll provider, no DATEV or Lohn und Gehalt path, and no documented pre-payroll check, approval lock step or tax-adviser access, so the month closes cleanly only if you live in the US or UK.

Absence & working-time

Factorial

Vacation-management pages exist, but we found no public information on automatic entitlement calculation, carry-over, sickness recording, or any working-time recording, and nothing on how the German recording duty is met. For a German buyer that duty is the whole question, and the captured pages do not answer it.

HiBob

Employees log hours with flexible tracking, multiple clock-ins and outs per day, retroactive edits, manager approval and attendance reports that integrate into payroll, with custom policies for global teams and Slack and Teams integrations. We found no public information on automatic entitlement and carry-over, sickness recording, an absence calendar, holiday calendars per location, or any treatment of the German working-time recording duty, so I score the capture as capable but not evidenced as a legal obligation.

Recruiting & onboarding

Factorial

Pages exist for both applicant management and onboarding/offboarding, but we found no public information on how a hired candidate carries over into the employee record without re-entry. We also found no public information on SCIM provisioning, a documented API, or onboarding tasks that reach IT — my test is whether onboarding creates the account, and that is unanswered here.

HiBob

The join path is real: one team member record created at offer signing, pre-boarding starting the moment the offer is signed, document collection with e-signatures, and onboarding connecting to payroll and benefits without extra data entry plus IT equipment requests. From my seat an equipment request is a checklist item, not an account — we found no public information on SCIM or directory provisioning, single sign-on, public API documentation for the flow, job-board multi-posting, interview scheduling and scorecards, or applicant retention and deletion.

Employee data protection & co-determination

Factorial

A platform data processing agreement is available, and the security pages name least-privilege access, logging and even AI training-data handling, which is more than a checkbox posture. We found no public information on retention periods per data category, executable deletion, or field-level role separation, so a works council review would have to start from the DPA and nothing else.

HiBob

The published privacy policy explicitly does not cover employees using the product at a customer's direction, retention is stated only as long as reasonably necessary for the relationship and legal obligations, and retention questions are handled by email; roles go beyond admin-or-not only insofar as access rights can be defined for pre-approved stakeholders. The transfer-law scaffolding is there — standard contractual clauses for the EU, UK and Switzerland, Data Privacy Framework certification for the US entity, an appointed DPO — but we found no public information on a signable data processing agreement, per-category retention periods, executable deletion, an audit log of who read what, or works-council-facing documentation.

European sovereignty

Factorial

The vendor is presented as a Barcelona company, but the captured pages name only Amazon Web Services and Azure as infrastructure with no region stated. We found no public information on data residency, on the contracting entity as confirmed on the vendor's own pages, or on any subprocessor list, so as a buyer I cannot say where the data lives.

HiBob

The privacy policy states personal data is maintained, processed and stored in the US, EU, UK, Australia, Canada and Israel, with the US subsidiary certified under the EU-US Data Privacy Framework and standard contractual clauses in place, but the captured pages do not confirm which region a European customer gets by default. The contracting entity's jurisdiction is not stated on the captured pages, and we found no public information naming the subprocessors or the data-centre provider.

Pricing transparency

Factorial

Pricing pages exist and were captured twice, yet no per-employee figure, billing period, minimum, or module price was confirmed from them. We found no public information on module-level pricing at all, so an HR lead cannot compute the annual invoice for their headcount from what is public.

HiBob

The captured pricing page states "The cost of onboarding software varies based on the features, number of users, and type of subscription model" — cost drivers without a single number — and the only route to a price shown is a free demo. Claims like "Return $2.55 for every $1 spent" are marketing, not prices, so an HR lead cannot compute an annual invoice from the public pages.

Sovereignty, side by side

Dimension Factorial HiBob
Legal entity Not determined Not determined
Ownership Not determined Not determined
Data residency Not determined Not determined
Subprocessors Not determined Not determined

Facts, side by side

Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.

Product · AI capabilities AI Overview · AI Feature · AI Training Data1

captured 19 Oct 2026 · Report an error

AI generates reviews, job descriptions, communications2

captured 19 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Questions about Factorial and HiBob

Which is better, Factorial or HiBob?

As of 20 Oct 2026, the panel rates HiBob higher: 2/5 against 1.5/5. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 0 of the 6 judges pick Factorial and 5 pick HiBob, 1 calls it a tie. Which one fits depends on the criteria that matter to you; the table on this page shows both side by side, and each judge’s reading has its own page. Both were scored by the same AI bench under the same rubric, from public evidence only, as the methodology describes.

Is Factorial or HiBob European?

Factorial is European (EU-Made). HiBob is not European by provenance (Rest of world). Provenance is read from each company’s own legal pages: who builds it and who owns it.

Where do Factorial and HiBob store customer data?

Per the vendors’ own pages as captured — Factorial: its pages as captured do not say. HiBob: Default not stated; pages mention the US, the EU, United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and Israel.