As of 30 Oct 2026, the panel rates helloCash 2.5/5 and PayPal POS (Zettle) 2/5 in POS & Checkout Systems. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 5 of the 6 judges pick helloCash and 0 pick PayPal POS (Zettle), 1 calls it a tie. helloCash scores higher on 4 of 7 criteria (European sovereignty, Accounting handoff, DATEV & data export, Fiscal compliance (TSE, DSFinV-K, RKSV), plus 1 more). PayPal POS (Zettle) scores higher on 3 of 7 criteria (Card payments & fees, Pricing transparency and Checkout, receipts & hardware). Provenance — helloCash: EU-Made; PayPal POS (Zettle): EU origin, foreign-owned. Ratings are the AI panel’s opinion, formed from public evidence: how scores are made.
The leaning criteria split the benches. helloCash leads accounting and portability (mean 5.7 vs 3.2; 6–0) on a stated DATEV Kassenarchiv online interface and CSV export, fiscal compliance (5.0 vs 4.0; 5 lean, 1 tie) and sovereignty (6.8 vs 3.2; 6–0), its attributes listing legal entity jurisdiction AT and EU-only data residency. PayPal POS (Zettle) leads payments and fees (6.0 vs 4.0; 6–0) on 1,39 % on all cards, no monthly fee and payouts typically within minutes, plus pricing transparency (6.5 vs 5.5; 4 lean, 2 tie). Checkout and hardware (4.0 vs 4.2; 1 lean to PayPal POS (Zettle), 5 ties) and operations and locations (4.2 vs 4.0; 1 lean to helloCash, 5 ties) sit close. Weighted totals as shown: tax adviser 5.2 vs 4.3, operations manager 4.8 vs 4.1, skeptic 5.1 vs 4.4, fee-conscious merchant 4.7 vs 4.7. No overall winner; the split is the answer.
Choose helloCash if
You need a bookkeeping handoff built on a stated DATEV Kassenarchiv online interface and CSV export — the accounting and portability lean runs 6–0 to helloCash.
Your procurement rules require an EU-only data-residency listing and an Austrian contracting entity — helloCash's sovereignty attributes state data residency EU-only and legal entity jurisdiction AT.
You must document a signature chain named for both the Austrian and German markets — 5 judges lean helloCash on fiscal compliance (mean 5.0 vs 4.0).
Your tax adviser drives the purchase decision — the weighted total reads 5.2 vs 4.3 in helloCash's favor.
Choose PayPal POS (Zettle) if
You need card costs published up front — 1,39 % on all cards, readers from 29 € plus VAT, terminals from 199 € plus VAT — and the payments and fees lean runs 6–0 to PayPal POS (Zettle).
You sell at markets and stalls and want no monthly fee and no contracts.
Your cash flow depends on payouts typically within minutes.
Your decision turns on pricing transparency — 4 judges lean PayPal POS (Zettle) there, mean 6.5 vs 5.5.
Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.
The Hospitality Operations Manager
Runs operations for a group of eight restaurants in three cities with two hundred staff. Wants one menu and price list pushed to every site with local exceptions, staff rights that stop a waiter voiding his own bills, reports that compare sites by the hour, and a works council and data protection officer who can sign off what the till records about employees and loyalty guests, and where it is hosted.
helloCash
This judge's pick
PayPal POS (Zettle)
Criterion by criterion
Checkout, receipts & hardware
helloCash
Apps for iOS, Android and Mac, receipt printers connected over WLAN or Bluetooth, barcode scanning, and receipts printed or sent by email, WhatsApp or PDF are documented, with laptops, PCs, tablets usable and printers purchasable from the vendor; however a working internet connection is stated as the sole requirement for operation, and we found no public information on offline selling, returns and cancellations, or a customer display.
PayPal POS (Zettle)
The till is an app in Apple's and Google's stores running on phone or tablet, with own hardware priced — a Bluetooth reader, an all-in-one WLAN/4G terminal with integrated POS app, a printer and dock sold separately, a barcode scanner add-on — plus Tap to Pay on the phone with no hardware. Receipts by email or text message are documented, and the terms mention an offline payment function, though its limits are not described. For my restaurants the captured pages give no information on modifiers, split bills, tables or a kitchen display, which caps this well below a full hospitality till.
Card payments & fees
helloCash
A SumUp card terminal is integrated and purchasable in the vendor's online shop, MasterCard, VISA, Apple Pay and Google Pay are published as accepted, and Adyen, PayPal and SumUp are named for payment processing; we found no published transaction fees by card type, terminal costs, payout timing, girocard acceptance, or the option to use a terminal of my own choosing.
PayPal POS (Zettle)
Payments run through PayPal itself, a CSSF-supervised Luxembourg e-money institution, accepting cards and Apple, Google and Samsung Pay, with a published rate of 1.39% for all cards, payouts to the PayPal business account typically within minutes, and scheduled bank transfers at no extra fee. Tap to Pay and the reader and terminal prices are public. The pages name no girocard, show one rate rather than fees per card type, and give no information on using another acquirer or terminal of my choice behind the till, or on reconciling card payments to the daily closing.
Fiscal compliance (TSE, DSFinV-K, RKSV)
helloCash
The signature providers are named for both markets — fiskaly Germany GmbH for the German signature and A-Trust in Vienna with RKSV conformity named — and the Z-Bon daily closing, the cash book and receipt delivery channels are published; the captured pages explain DSFinV-K and the Kassenmeldepflicht as legal duties without stating that the DSFinV-K export itself is delivered, and we found no BSI certificate, GoBD ten-year storage statement or procedure documentation.
PayPal POS (Zettle)
The pages state compliance with GoBD and KassenSichV, a TSE to be set up in the app with a setup guide in the user manual, Z-reports at any time, and automatic cloud capture of all transactions so the merchant is ready for the Kassenschau. The TSE provider and its BSI certificate are not named, and we found no public information on the DSFinV-K export, the ten-year GoBD archive, the § 146a AO registration or a Verfahrensdokumentation, nor on any other country's fiscal rules. More than a compliance label, but not what a German tax auditor will ask me to hand over.
Inventory, tables, staff & locations
helloCash
Stock management with stocktaking, article administration with supplier details, a staff permission system, per-employee performance reports and a gastro table overview with bill splitting are documented; we found no public information on a kitchen display or kitchen printer, recipes, a log of cancellations and voids per employee, or central management of several branches under one back office, which is decisive for my eight sites.
PayPal POS (Zettle)
Products and stock with low-stock alerts and bulk upload, per-staff sales tracking, realtime reports filterable by payment type, and managing several registers and locations under one account are documented. The captured pages give no information on tables, courses, a kitchen display or QR ordering, and staff appear only as performance tracking — we found no public information on roles and rights that would stop a waiter voiding his own bills, on cancellation logs, or on pushing one central menu and price list to every site. Fine for a single shop; the evidence does not reach an eight-site restaurant group.
Accounting handoff, DATEV & data export
helloCash
An interface to DATEV Kassenarchiv online, a CSV export to accounting programs, API access and an article and service export are published, with tax advisers named as recipients of customer data; we found no public information on webhooks or a developer portal, booking with revenue accounts, separate reconciliation of card payouts and fees, or a full export of customers, sales and the fiscal journal when the contract ends.
PayPal POS (Zettle)
The captures list many named webshop and POS integrations and mention cloud accounting platforms without naming any of them, alongside realtime sales reports and a computer dashboard. We found no public information on a DATEV export, booking with revenue accounts and tax rates, a documented API or webhooks, or a full export of articles, customers and sales when the contract ends. My accountant gets sales figures; how bookings actually reach her is not shown.
European sovereignty
helloCash
The contracting entity is mRaP GmbH in Wieselburg, Austria, data is stored in a certified data centre in Germany, and subprocessors are listed with locations — fiskaly in Frankfurt, A-Trust in Vienna, Adyen in Berlin, PayPal in Luxembourg, Stripe in Dublin — alongside a downloadable data processing agreement, a consent declaration and a named data protection officer my own DPO can contact; the data centre is called certified without the certification being named, ownership is not documented, and Google, Hotjar and Microsoft Office appear for marketing and administration.
PayPal POS (Zettle)
The contracting entity is PayPal (Europe) S.à r.l. et Cie, S.C.A., a Luxembourg credit institution supervised by the CSSF, while the copyright line runs to PayPal Inc. and the privacy notice discloses third-country transfers under EU standard contractual clauses, intra-group binding corporate rules and Google ReCaptcha on the services. The hosting location for sales, staff and guest data is not stated on the captured pages — till data is described only as stored encrypted in the cloud — and we found no subprocessor list. My works council and data protection officer cannot sign off on an unstated hosting location.
Pricing transparency
helloCash
Four plans are public with monthly figures from a free till to "GASTRO € 2090 /Monat", all prices stated as excluding VAT, a module fee of € 4,90 per module, premium support at €42,90 per year or €150 net per hour in 15-minute units, and a flexible term cancellable at any time; we found no public prices for the TSE, hardware, card fees or setup, and no rule for how cost scales with additional tills or locations.
PayPal POS (Zettle)
The cost model is largely computable: no monthly fee and no contracts, 1.39% per card transaction, the reader from €29 plus VAT with additional readers at €79 plus VAT, the all-in-one terminal from €199 plus VAT, shop kits from €229 plus VAT, fee changes announced 30 days in advance, and VAT always stated as excluded. Delivery fees are only said to apply without an amount, and the printer and dock and the barcode scanner are sold separately without prices on the captured pages. Nearly complete price computability for a small estate, with a few add-ons unpriced.
Sovereignty, side by side
Dimension
helloCash
PayPal POS (Zettle)
Legal entity
Not determined
Not determined
Hosting location
Not determined
Not determined
Hosting options
Not determined
Not determined
Open source
Not determined
Not determined
Data processing agreement
Not determined
Not determined
Transfer impact assessment
Not determined
Not determined
Facts, side by side
Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.
Which is better, helloCash or PayPal POS (Zettle)?
As of 30 Oct 2026, the panel rates helloCash higher: 2.5/5 against 2/5. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 5 of the 6 judges pick helloCash and 0 pick PayPal POS (Zettle), 1 calls it a tie. Which one fits depends on the criteria that matter to you; the table on this page shows both side by side, and each judge’s reading has its own page. Both were scored by the same AI bench under the same rubric, from public evidence only, as the methodology describes.
Is helloCash or PayPal POS (Zettle) European?
helloCash is European (EU-Made). PayPal POS (Zettle) is European (EU origin, foreign-owned). Provenance is read from each company’s own legal pages: who builds it and who owns it.
Where do helloCash and PayPal POS (Zettle) store customer data?
Per the vendors’ own pages as captured — helloCash: Default not stated; pages mention Germany. PayPal POS (Zettle): its pages as captured do not say.
Do helloCash and PayPal POS (Zettle) have a free plan?
As of 30 Oct 2026, helloCash’s own pages state a free plan; PayPal POS (Zettle)’s pages as captured do not. Each product page links the pricing page it was read from.