Mollie leads payment methods 7.0 to 4.0, settlement and reconciliation 4.0 to 2.5, licence and account terms 4.3 to 2.0 and sovereignty 3.3 to 0.2, with 6 judges leaning Mollie on each, backed by named local methods like iDEAL, BLIK, TWINT and Przelewy24. Stripe takes recurring billing 5.0 to 4.2 — 4 judges lean Stripe, 1 leans Mollie — with subscriptions priced at 0,7 % of billing volume. Pricing transparency reads 7.0 to 6.8, 1 judge leaning Stripe, 5 ties; Stripe prints card rates by origin and disputes at 20,00 € each. Checkout and strong customer authentication scores 2.0 for each, 6 ties, and both verdicts found no public information on 3-D Secure or SCA exemptions. Where shown, per-judge weighted totals run Mollie 4.0 to 4.5 against Stripe 2.3 to 3.3; the splits on recurring billing and pricing transparency are the answer, with no overall winner.
Choose Mollie if
You sell through local payment methods such as iDEAL, BLIK, TWINT and Przelewy24 — payment methods scores 7.0 to 4.0 with 6 judges leaning Mollie, and the verdict prices iDEAL and Wero at 0,42 €.
Your finance team relies on settlement and reconciliation detail — the criterion scores 4.0 to 2.5, with 6 judges leaning Mollie.
You weigh licence and account terms — the criterion scores 4.3 to 2.0 with 6 judges leaning Mollie; the verdict records an e-money institution licence from the Dutch central bank under number F0038, while Stripe's 2 on this criterion reflects terms permitting termination at any time.
Sovereignty matters to your procurement — sovereignty scores 3.3 to 0.2 with 6 judges leaning Mollie; Mollie carries EU-made provenance, while Stripe's legal entity jurisdiction is listed as US.
Choose Stripe if
Your revenue runs on subscriptions — recurring billing scores 5.0 to 4.2 with 4 judges leaning Stripe; the verdict evidences subscriptions at scale, with billing priced at 0,7 % of billing volume.
You need fee-level pricing detail — pricing transparency scores 7.0 to 6.8, and Stripe prints disputes at 20,00 € each, SEPA Direct Debit at 0,35 € and card rates by origin; Mollie's verdict found no public information on chargeback or refund fees, so an end-to-end cost cannot be computed.
You bill cards from multiple origins — Stripe's rate card prints standard EWR cards at 1,5 % + 0,25 € and foreign cards at 3,15 % + 0,25 €, with no monthly fee on standard payments.
You need a provider whose legal entity jurisdiction is US — Stripe's sovereignty attributes list legal entity jurisdiction as US; Mollie's attributes list it as unknown.
Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.
The Payments Engineer
Integrates the provider and gets paged when webhooks stop arriving. Wants a versioned API with idempotency keys, a test mode that behaves like production, the PCI scope of each integration stated, and a status page that admits incidents rather than a green dot.
Mollie
This judge's pick
Stripe
Criterion by criterion
Payment methods & local coverage
Mollie
The pricing page names the methods a European rollout needs — iDEAL and Wero, Bancontact, EPS, BLIK, Przelewy24, TWINT, Swish and SEPA Direct Debit — with Klarna and Billie priced per country group and card rates split EEA consumer, commercial and non-EEA. What I cannot plan against: settlement currencies are not stated, refunds and recurring support are not documented per method, and Apple Pay is left at a rate that depends on the underlying credit card.
Stripe
Over a hundred payment methods and 135+ supported currencies are claimed, SEPA Direct Debit is priced at 0,35 €, Klarna from 2,99 % + 0,35 €, and Girocard support is shown for the German terminal reader — but the captured pages never say which countries and currencies each method serves, and we found no public information on wallets or on refund and recurring support per method. That is a count, not a coverage matrix a merchant can plan against.
Checkout, SCA & fraud
Mollie
Fraud prevention is named as a module, a checkout is included at no extra cost, and the dashboard offers recovery of failed payments — but I found no public information on 3-D Secure, SCA exemptions, hosted versus embedded options, or the PCI scope of any integration. For a PSD2 shop that silence sits just above the bottom of the scale.
Stripe
We found no public information on 3-D Secure, SCA exemption handling, hosted versus embedded checkout options, or the PCI scope of each integration — only a bare PCI-conformity label, fraud prevention via Stripe Radar, and no-code payment links. Fraud screening is named but unexplained, and nothing is evidenced on keeping legitimate payments from failing.
Subscriptions & recurring payments
Mollie
Recurring payments are included without additional cost, subscriptions are a named module, SEPA Direct Debit is priced, and the dashboard mentions rescuing failed payments. I found no public information on SEPA mandate handling, merchant-initiated transactions, dunning, account updater, or any process for exporting stored payment credentials to another provider.
Stripe
Subscription billing is evidently a real product — over 200 million active subscriptions managed via Stripe Billing, a billing fee of 0,7 % of billing volume, invoicing at 0,4 % per paid invoice, usage-based pricing examples, and SEPA Direct Debit priced. But we found no public information on dunning or smart retries, mandate pre-notification, a card account updater, merchant-initiated transaction documentation, or any process for exporting payment tokens to another provider.
Settlement, reconciliation & API
Mollie
The developer section shows documentation, a changelog, libraries and a status link, and the test setup is exactly what I want — test keys with no contract and the same endpoints for test and live. Payout frequency and delay are not stated, and beyond a balance-reconciliation module being named I found no public information on per-transaction fee breakdowns, webhooks, or exports that tie each payout to its transactions.
Stripe
SDKs, APIs, developer documentation, a dashboard and serious throughput figures are published, yet we found no public information on payout schedule or settlement currencies, per-transaction fee itemisation, reconciliation reports that match bank lines, webhooks, a test mode, idempotency, or a status page with incident history. The 99,999 % availability figure is a marketing claim, not an incident record I could plan an on-call rotation around.
Licence, risk & account terms
Mollie
Both regulated entities are fully identified — Mollie B.V. as an e-money institution under the Dutch central bank with register number F0038 and Chamber of Commerce 302.04462, and Mollie UK Ltd under the FCA with FRN 977968 — and the dashboard mentions disputing a chargeback. I found no public information on safeguarding of merchant funds, chargeback fees, reserves or rolling holds, termination notice periods, or a route of appeal.
Stripe
The imprint names Stripe, Inc., a Delaware corporation with a company register number, but no payments licence, supervisor or safeguarding statement appears on the captured pages, and the terms let Stripe terminate or close the account at any time with no stated reason or timeline. A 20,00 € dispute fee is published and fee increases carry 30 days' notice, which is the only daylight between this and the floor.
European sovereignty
Mollie
An Amsterdam entity holds a Dutch central bank e-money licence, so the contracting party is European, and outside-EEA transfers are acknowledged with EU standard contractual clauses as the mechanism. Where payment and cardholder data are processed is not stated, and the subprocessor disclosure gives categories rather than named providers with locations — apart from Ekata of Mastercard for onboarding fraud checks — so the chain is only partly visible.
Stripe
The captured pages name Stripe, Inc. of South San Francisco as the service provider, and we found no public information confirming an EU contracting or licensed entity, where payment data is processed and stored, or any subprocessor list. An international data transfer section and an incorporated DPA with a Data Transfers Addendum exist, but nothing evidences EU processing of payment or cardholder data.
Pricing transparency
Mollie
This is close to computable: EEA consumer cards at 1,80 % + 0,25 € versus non-EEA cards at 3,25 % + 0,25 €, iDEAL and Wero at 0,42 €, SEPA Direct Debit at 0,35 €, payouts free up to five a month and 1 % on payouts in another currency, no monthly fees, and interchange++ named as the model from 100.000 € monthly volume. The gaps that keep the effective fee from being fully derivable: chargeback and refund fees are not published and the per-transaction currency conversion markup is not stated.
Stripe
This is a genuinely public price list: EWR standard cards at 1,5 % + 0,25 € and premium at 2,8 % + 0,25 €, UK at 2,5 % + 0,25 € and foreign cards at 3,15 % + 0,25 €, a stated +2 % currency conversion, SEPA Direct Debit at 0,35 €, Klarna from 2,99 % + 0,35 €, a 20,00 € dispute fee, and no setup or monthly fees. What keeps it short of the top of the scale: we found no public information on refund or payout fees or the contract term, and interchange++ pricing appears only as a named custom-tier feature rather than a plainly stated model.
Sovereignty, side by side
Dimension
Mollie
Stripe
Legal entity
Not determined
Incorporated in US
Ownership
Not determined
Not determined
Data residency
Not determined
Not determined
Subprocessors
Not determined
Not determined
Facts, side by side
Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.