Customer Service & Helpdesk
HelpSpace
EU-Made Report an errorPanel rating · 6 judges · How to read the stars
Category median
Sovereignty: 2 of 4 dimensions proven
0–5 in half steps. 5 means the rubric's top anchor is met on the evidence.
by HelpSpace GmbH · helpspace.com
Report an error on this page Is this your product? →
Read this page as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.
The panel's verdict
HelpSpace is a German small-team helpdesk, and the bench puts it mid-table: persona-weighted totals run 4.1 to 4.8. It is strongest on pricing transparency and knowledge base & deflection and weakest on sovereignty and customer data protection, with ticketing, queues & SLA and omnichannel each spanning min 4 to max 4. Judges credit a pricing page that is fully computable — Starter $12, Team $20, Business $40 per user per month, a 15-day trial with no credit card and no automatic renewal — and a Docs help centre with its own domain, article ratings and multilingual versioning. What they dock is absence: no SLA timers, escalation chains or first-response/resolution reporting on ticketing, queues & SLA, and no channel beyond per-plan email plus an adjustable site widget on omnichannel. The widest score spread, knowledge base & deflection at 4-6, stayed below the threshold for flagging a split; on sovereignty the "Made in Germany" claim and a German GmbH in Bad Vilbel coexist with data residency, ownership and the subprocessor chain all listed unknown, Paddle for payments the only subprocessor named.
Speaks for it
- Starter $12, Team $20 and Business $40 per user per month with stated user, email-channel, docs-site and task-board limits make the invoice computable from the pricing page
- A 15-day trial requires no credit card and there is no automatic renewal
- Docs offers a public help centre in three styles with own domain, article ratings, and multilingual/versioned articles on Team and Business
- Rules & Automation, round-robin assignment, teams, Kanban boards and Global Search clear the manual-routing bar
- Shopify, Slack and Zapier are named alongside an API with webhooks, and SSO sits on Business
Held against it
- No SLA timers, priorities, escalation chains or first-response/resolution reporting appear anywhere in the evidence — 'Support Reports' names no metric
- Beyond per-plan email channels and an adjustable site widget, no chat, telephony, messenger or customer portal is evidenced
- Data residency, ownership and the subprocessor chain are unknown, with Paddle for payments the only named subprocessor
- No audit log of ticket access, agent permission model or configurable archive retention is evidenced, leaving 2FA as the lone access-control fact
- No deflection reporting, article suggestions or draft/publish workflow, and no CRM, documented rate limits, SCIM or sandbox on the API
Best for
- You run a small email-first team (Team plan covers up to 15 users) that needs rules-based routing, Kanban boards and a public help centre at a computable price
- You want self-service on your own domain with multilingual, versioned articles alongside ticketing
- Your buyer needs the invoice computed from the pricing page plus a 15-day trial with no credit card before committing
- Your stack already centers on Shopify, Slack and Zapier with webhooks rather than a CRM
Avoid if
- You commit to response-time SLAs — no timers, breach warnings, escalation chains or first-response/resolution reporting appear in the evidence
- You need live chat, telephony, messengers or a customer-facing ticket portal — only email channels and an embeddable widget are evidenced
- You must document data residency and a subprocessor list before procurement — both are unknown, with Paddle the only named subprocessor
- You need an audit log of ticket access, agent-level permissions or configurable retention for the ticket archive
The scores
Ticketing, queues & SLA
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
The engine: how work is routed, prioritised, escalated and measured — and whether an agent can find the ticket they need among ten thousand.
0 — A shared mailbox with labels; no ownership, no status model, no history beyond the thread.
3 — Tickets with assignment and open/closed status, but routing is manual, there are no SLA timers and search covers subject lines only.
5 — Queues with rules-based routing, priorities, a working status model, SLA timers with breach warnings, and full-text search across ticket bodies.
8 — Business-hours-aware SLA policies per queue or customer, escalation chains, macros and triggers, merge and split, and reporting on first-response and resolution time by agent and queue.
10 — The workload is managed rather than merely tracked: capacity-aware assignment, SLA per contract with reporting an account manager could show a customer, audit of every status change, and search that finds the ticket from a half-remembered phrase.
The Support Lead
Round-robin, rules-based assignment, teams, Kanban and global search are real routing machinery, but there is not one word on SLA timers, breach warnings, escalation chains or first-response/resolution reporting — 'Support Reports' is a slogan, not a report. That's the machinery my SLA lives on, so this sits between manual and managed: better than bare assignment, no evidence of the timers at all. 1 2
The Agent Advocate
Rules & Automation, round-robin, global search, tags and internal notes are real queue machinery, but the evidence never mentions SLA timers, priorities, escalation or merge/split — and 'Support Reports' is a slogan with no first-response or resolution numbers. I can't push an engine past mid-table when the thing I'm measured on nightly is unevidenced. 2 1
The Data Protection Officer
Agent/team/round-robin assignment, Rules & Automation, tags and a Global Search give rules-based routing and a workable status model, but SLA is entirely absent: no timers, no breach warnings, no escalation chains, no merge/split, and 'Support Reports' is a marketing phrase with no first-response or resolution metrics named. 2 1
The Shop Operator
Rules & Automation, agent/team/round-robin assignment, internal notes and Global Search put this above a manual hopper, but the evidence shows no SLA timers, priorities, breach warnings or first-response/resolution reporting by agent or queue — the parts that keep a December queue honest are simply absent. 2 1
The Integrator
Rules & Automation, round-robin assignment, Kanban boards and Global Search clear the manual-routing bar, but the evidence is silent on SLA timers, priorities, escalation chains and merge/split — 'Support Reports' is a homepage slogan, not first-response reporting by agent and queue. 1 2
The Skeptic
Rules & Automation, round-robin and team assignment, tags and Global Search put routing above manual, but SLA timers, priorities, escalation chains and first-response/resolution reporting appear nowhere in the evidence — "Support Reports" is a marketing phrase without a single named metric. 1 2
Channels in one queue
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
Email, chat, phone, portal, messengers and social — judged on what actually lands in the same queue with the same history, not on how many channel logos the marketing page carries.
0 — Email only.
3 — Email plus one more channel, but the second lives in its own inbox: no shared history, and a customer who switches channel starts again.
5 — Email, a web form or portal and live chat all landing as tickets in one queue, with the customer's history visible whichever channel they used.
8 — The above plus telephony integration with call logging, at least one messenger (WhatsApp, Signal or similar) with its consent handling stated, and a customer portal where a requester can see their own tickets.
10 — Channel is an implementation detail: every channel including voice and messengers writes to one conversation with one history, agents answer from one screen, and the customer can move between channels mid-issue without repeating themselves.
The Support Lead
The pricing page counts channels as 'Email Channels' and the only non-email touchpoint evidenced is an 'Adjustable Widget' plus a vague 'pipe all customer requests from different channels into one inbox' claim. No telephony, no messenger, no customer portal anywhere in the evidence — a phone caller starts over as far as this evidence goes. 1 2
The Agent Advocate
'Pipe all customer requests from different channels into one inbox' is marketing copy, and the only channel the pricing page actually counts is email, plus a help widget as the maybe-second. No telephony, no messenger, no portal where a requester sees their own tickets — that's short of the one-queue-three-channels anchor. 1 2
The Data Protection Officer
'Pipe all customer requests from different channels into one inbox' is asserted, but the only channels actually evidenced are per-plan email channels plus a website widget; no live chat, no telephony, no messengers, and no customer portal where a requester sees their own tickets. 1 2
The Shop Operator
The 'Unified Ticket Inbox' claim plus an adjustable site widget and customer/organization records suggest email and web land together, but every plan counts 'Email Channels' as the channel unit — there is no WhatsApp, no telephony, no requester portal, and no evidence the Shopify order appears in the ticket rather than a second login. 1 2
The Integrator
A unified inbox with an on-site widget plus email, and customer/organization management implying shared history, is above two siloed inboxes — but the pricing page literally counts 'Email Channels' per tier and no chat, telephony, messenger or requester-visible portal appears anywhere in the evidence. 1 2
Knowledge base & deflection
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
Whether the product reduces the number of tickets as well as organising them: public help centre, article workflow, suggestions to agents and to customers.
0 — No knowledge base; answers live in agents' heads and old tickets.
3 — A basic article list, public or internal, with no editorial workflow, no versioning and no link between articles and tickets.
5 — A searchable public help centre with categories, draft and publish states, and agents able to insert an article into a reply.
8 — Article suggestions to the customer before they submit and to the agent while they answer, multilingual articles, review dates that flag stale content, and reporting on which articles deflect.
10 — Knowledge is a managed asset: gaps identified from unanswered tickets, article performance measured against ticket volume by topic, versioned content with approval, and deflection reported as a number the team can act on.
The Support Lead
A public help centre in three styles with own domain, article ratings, multi-language and versioning on Team/Business is a genuine knowledge asset. But no editorial workflow, no evidence an agent can drop an article into a reply, no suggestions before submit, and no deflection reporting — I can see it publishes, not whether it reduces volume. 1 2
The Agent Advocate
The Docs side is genuinely solid: three styles, own domain, article ratings, versioning and multilingual from Team up, unlimited articles on every plan. But nothing links knowledge to tickets — no agent-side suggestions, no review dates, no deflection reporting — so it organises answers without proving it removes work from the queue. 2 1
The Data Protection Officer
A public help centre in three styles with own domain, article ratings, unlimited articles, and multilingual/versioned content on Team and Business is real deflection infrastructure, but there is no editorial workflow, no review dates, no article suggestions to agent or customer, and no deflection reporting — the 'which articles work' question has no answer. 1 2
The Shop Operator
A genuine public help centre — own domain, three styles, article ratings, multilingual articles and versioning from Team up — is well past a basic list, but nothing evidences article suggestions before submit or deflection reporting, so I cannot tell whether the ticket count actually falls when Docs is switched on. 1 2
The Integrator
Docs with own domain, article ratings, multilingual content and versioning on Team/Business is a real help-centre asset, but there is no evidence of draft/publish workflow, article suggestions to agent or customer, review dates, or any deflection reporting — 'find answers on their own 24x7' is a tagline, not a measured deflection number. 1 2
The Skeptic
A public help centre in three styles with own domain, ratings, unlimited articles, multilingual and versioning on Team/Business is real self-service; but no draft/publish workflow, no article suggestions to customer or agent, no review dates and no deflection reporting are evidenced — article ratings are the only feedback loop. 1 2
Customer data protection
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
A ticket archive is personal data written by the data subject. Retention, deletion, access control, subject rights, and what the vendor does with attachments — judged on what executes rather than what is promised.
0 — No retention policy stated, no deletion path, agents all see everything, and no DPA is published.
3 — A DPA on request and coarse roles; deletion is described as something the customer arranges, and there is no stated retention period.
5 — A signable DPA published, configurable agent roles and queue-level visibility, a stated retention period, and deletion of a requester's data that can actually be executed.
8 — Automatic retention rules per queue or data category, attachment handling stated, an audit log of who opened which ticket, documented support for access and erasure requests, and pseudonymisation or redaction of ticket content.
10 — Built for a data-protection audit: retention executed and evidenced per category, field-level redaction, full audit trail, subprocessor list published, and the vendor's own support access to customer instances documented and consent-gated.
The Support Lead
A published DPA, stated GDPR legal basis, portability, and deletion after termination with statutory retention carve-outs put them past 'arrange it yourself'. But no agent permission model or queue-level visibility is evidenced, no retention period for the ticket archive, no audit log, no attachment or redaction handling — 2FA and 'AI features GDPR-compliant' are claims, not controls. 3 2
The Agent Advocate
The privacy policy lists a Data Processing Addendum, promises deletion after contract end, and names Paddle for payments, with 2FA on the product side — but that's website-level hygiene. No evidence of agent roles, queue-level visibility, an audit log of who opened which ticket, attachment handling, or redaction; an archive full of data-subject text needs product capability, not a policy page. 3 2
The Data Protection Officer
A Data Processing Addendum is listed among published documents and deletion after contract termination plus portability are stated, which clears the floor — but nothing here governs the ticket archive itself: no configurable retention rules per queue, no audit log of who opened which ticket, no redaction or pseudonymisation, no queue-level visibility model beyond 'Teams', no attachment handling, and no word on whether HelpSpace support can open a customer instance. 3 2
The Shop Operator
A Data Processing Addendum is listed among the legal documents, deletion after contract termination and portability are stated, and the German supervisory authority is named, with 2FA on the product — but I find no agent roles or queue-level visibility, no audit log of who opened which ticket, no retention period for the ticket archive and no attachment handling. 3 2
The Integrator
The privacy policy lists a DPA document, deletion after contract end, and portability, but that governs the vendor's own website — nothing evidences agent roles, queue-level visibility, retention configuration, audit logs, or attachment handling in the product; 2FA is the only access-control fact present. 2 3
The Skeptic
A Data Processing Addendum is published and deletion after termination plus portability are stated, but the privacy policy governs the vendor's own site: no retention period for the ticket archive, no agent role or queue-visibility model, no audit log of ticket access and no redaction anywhere. 2 3
Integrations & API
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
The systems a helpdesk has to reach — CRM, shop, order management, identity — and whether the API is documented for building or gated behind a partner conversation.
0 — No API and no named integrations; context is copied in by hand.
3 — A handful of native integrations and a read-mostly API, with no webhooks and no documented rate limits.
5 — Named integrations for common CRM and shop systems, a documented REST API with keys, webhooks for the core ticket events, and SSO.
8 — Maintained bidirectional integrations, customer context from other systems shown inside the ticket, SCIM provisioning, documented rate limits and a sandbox.
10 — A component rather than a destination: versioned API with a deprecation policy, event streaming both directions, an app framework for in-ticket extensions, and integrations the vendor maintains rather than lists.
The Support Lead
Shopify and Slack native, Zapier as the universal bridge, an API with webhooks, and SSO on Business covers the anchor-5 ground, though no CRM is native and nothing shows the API is documented with keys and rate limits. No SCIM, no sandbox, no in-ticket customer context — solid, not strategic. 1 2
The Agent Advocate
API, webhooks, Shopify, Slack, Zapier and SSO on Business clear the mid anchor, and the open-API talk is plausible. But no named CRM, no documented rate limits, no sandbox, no SCIM, and no customer context proven inside the ticket — Zapier is the safety net, not an integration story. 2 1
The Data Protection Officer
Shopify, Slack, Zapier, an open API with webhooks and SSO on Business covers most of the anchor; no CRM integration is named, and rate limits, SCIM and a sandbox are undocumented. 2 1
The Shop Operator
Shopify, Slack and Zapier are named alongside an API with webhooks, SSO on Business and an 'open API' integration framework, which meets the anchor — but nothing says the order context shows inside the ticket, and there is no named CRM, no SCIM, no documented rate limits and no sandbox. 1 2
The Integrator
'API Webhooks' is a two-word pricing bullet with no documented rate limits, no sandbox, no SCIM, no webhook retry policy, no versioning or deprecation policy, and the named integrations are Shopify, Slack and Zapier — no CRM; 'open API and a powerful integration framework' is marketing I cannot build against, and it sits above 3 only because webhooks and SSO are at least named. 1 2
European sovereignty
panel opinion
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
Where the ticket archive lives, who the contracting entity is, which subprocessors touch it, and whether vendor support can read customer data. Independently sourced by the sovereignty pipeline; scored here as this buyer weighs it.
0 — Non-EU vendor and contracting entity, hosting unstated or non-EU, subprocessors unnamed.
3 — EU hosting offered as an option while the contracting entity is non-EU, or the subprocessor list is absent.
5 — EU hosting as standard and an EU contracting entity, but parts of the chain — support tooling, analytics, AI features — are non-EU without an explained safeguard.
8 — EU or DACH hosting with a named data-centre provider, EU contracting entity, full subprocessor list published, and any non-EU processing named with its legal basis.
10 — Sovereign end to end and evidenced: vendor, entity, hosting and every subprocessor in the EU, certification published, and a self-hosted or private-cloud option for buyers who need the archive on their own infrastructure.
The Support Lead
A German GmbH in Bad Vilbel plus 'Made in Germany' on the homepage is a marketing claim, not a data-residency statement, and residency is listed as unknown. Only Paddle for payments is named as a subprocessor; there is no published subprocessor list for the archive itself, which is precisely the anchor-3 condition. 1 3
The Agent Advocate
A German GmbH at a German address plus a 'Made in Germany' claim are worth something, but ownership, actual hosting location and the subprocessor chain are all unknown — a badge is not a data-centre contract. I want to know where six years of tickets sleep, and the evidence doesn't say. 3 1
The Data Protection Officer
A German GmbH with the German state DPA as competent authority and a 'Made in Germany' claim is a start, but residency is a slogan without a named data-centre provider, ownership and the product subprocessor chain are unknown (only Paddle for payments is named), and nothing says whether vendor support can read customer instances — exactly the gap I care about. 1 3
The Shop Operator
'Made in Germany' and a Bad Vilbel address with German DPA language are promising, but the imprint was never captured, hosting/data residency is unstated, and the only named subprocessor (Paddle) comes with 'any other third party service providers as designated by us from time to time' — a slogan is not a list. 1 3
The Integrator
A German GmbH with a German address, German complaint authority and 'Made in Germany' is the right posture, but data residency is unstated, the imprint was never captured, ownership is unknown, and the only visible subprocessor is Paddle for payments — no published list, no named data-centre provider, so I cannot verify where the ticket archive sleeps. 1 3
The Skeptic
A German GmbH at a German address with a "Made in Germany" claim and a German supervisory authority, but hosting and data residency are unevidenced, ownership is unknown, and there is no subprocessor list — only Paddle, a non-EU payment processor, surfaces in passing in the privacy policy. 1 3
Pricing transparency
Show reasoningHide reasoning
How this is scored
Whether a support lead can compute the real annual invoice for their agent count — including the channels and features they actually need — from public pages alone.
0 — No public prices at all; every tier is a sales conversation.
3 — A per-agent headline exists, but the tier where the needed channel or SLA feature begins is unstated, or light-agent and contact limits are not mentioned.
5 — Per-agent prices public for the main tiers with billing period stated, but at least one commonly needed capability (telephony, messengers, SLA policies) sits in an unpriced bundle.
8 — Every tier and add-on priced publicly with per-agent maths, billing period, minimum term and VAT treatment stated; only genuinely custom enterprise work lacks a number.
10 — Complete price computability: a calculator or table producing the annual invoice for a given agent count and channel selection, including usage-metered channels and overage.
The Support Lead
Three tiers with per-user USD prices, user minimums and ceilings, and email-channel/docs-site/task-board limits per tier — I can compute my twelve-agent invoice (Business, $40 × 12) off the page, plus a 15-day trial with no card and no auto-renewal. VAT treatment, annual-period pricing and minimum term are unstated, which keeps it short of the 8 anchor. 2 1
The Agent Advocate
Three tiers with per-agent USD maths, channel counts and clear feature gating are public, so I can roughly compute my invoice for an email-and-docs team. But VAT treatment and minimum term are unstated, and there's nothing to price for telephony or SLA policies because those features don't exist — transparent about a thinner product. 2 1
The Data Protection Officer
Three fully priced per-user tiers with stated channel, docs-site and user limits, plus trial terms and no automatic renewal, make the invoice largely computable; VAT treatment, annual billing terms and any minimum term are unstated, and features like SSO being Business-only are at least visible in the table. 2 1
The Shop Operator
The tier table is unusually honest: $12/$20/$40 per user per month with user caps and email-channel, docs-site and task-board limits spelled out per plan, plus a 15-day no-card trial and no auto-renewal — but VAT treatment, billing period/minimum term and any annual option are absent, so the annual invoice is computable only roughly. 2 1
The Integrator
All three tiers are priced per user with channel/site limits and clear placement of SSO, custom fields and AI in the $40 Business plan, plus 15-day trial, no card and no auto-renewal — a support lead can compute the invoice for their agent count. Held under 8 because VAT treatment and minimum term are not stated and no annual-billing figure appears. 1 2
The Skeptic
Three tiers with per-user monthly prices, user minima/maxima and email-channel/docs/task counts are public, plus a no-card 15-day trial with no auto-renewal; but VAT treatment, annual billing and the tier where the AI features sit are not stated, so the real annual invoice is not fully computable from the page. 1 2
European sovereignty — proven facts
2 of 4 dimensions provenBuilt only from facts shown on the vendor's own pages. A dimension we could not prove is left open, not scored as zero.
| Legal entity | Incorporated in DE ⚠ unverified | 3/3 pts | 3 Report an error |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ownership | Not determined | — | uncited Report an error |
| Data residency | EU only ⚠ unverified | 3/3 pts | 4 Report an error |
| Subprocessors | Not determined | — | uncited Report an error |
Where this could be wrong
- Evidence ages. The oldest capture behind this page is from 17 Sep 2026. Vendors change pricing and policies without notice; every fact reflects its source as of the capture date shown in the registry.
- Weak sourcing — Legal entity. The address appears in the privacy policy as the responsible party rather than on a dedicated imprint page, though the GmbH form and German address are consistent.
- Weak sourcing — Data residency. The hosting provider itself is never named (only "a high-security data center located in the European Union"), so the claim rests on the vendor's marketing security page rather than a named subprocessor or contractual commitment.
- AI can misread a source. Extraction and judgement are automated; a citation guarantees traceability, not infallibility. If something here is wrong, say so — no account needed, every report is decided within 5 business days, and accepted corrections are published.
What we left out
A claim that does not survive our checks costs us the claim, not the page. This is what was taken off this one.
- 7 integrations facts could not be confirmed on the vendor’s page as captured and were left out of this page and of the panel’s material. Know more? Tell us
- 5 pricing facts could not be confirmed on the vendor’s page as captured and were left out of this page and of the panel’s material. Know more? Tell us
- 2 compliance facts could not be confirmed on the vendor’s page as captured and were left out of this page and of the panel’s material. Know more? Tell us
- 1 legal fact could not be confirmed on the vendor’s page as captured and was left out of this page and of the panel’s material. Know more? Tell us
- 1 subprocessors fact could not be confirmed on the vendor’s page as captured and was left out of this page and of the panel’s material. Know more? Tell us
- 6 of the readings below were written against an earlier fact sheet — a fact has been corrected, added or pulled since. Until the panel next runs on this product you are reading the older judgement. Know more? Tell us
Sources (6)
The pages every claim on this page was read from — each one checked, dated, and kept verifiable.
- 1 Vendor homepage helpspace.com Checked 17 Sep 2026 Details →
- 2 Pricing helpspace.com Checked 17 Sep 2026 Details →
- 3 Privacy policy helpspace.com Checked 17 Sep 2026 Details →
- 4 Security / trust page helpspace.com Checked 30 Sep 2026 Details →
- 5 Ticketing, queues & SLA — found from sitemap helpspace.com Checked 1 Oct 2026 Details →
- 6 Integrations & API — found from sitemap helpspace.com Checked 1 Oct 2026 Details →