whats-best.ai
Search Sign in

Content Marketing · head-to-head

Sanity vs Strapi

As of 28 Oct 2026, the panel rates Sanity 3/5 and Strapi 2.5/5 in Content Marketing. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 4 of the 6 judges pick Sanity and 2 pick Strapi. Sanity scores higher on 3 of 7 criteria (Pricing transparency, Planning, editorial calendar & briefs and AI assistance & content rights). Strapi scores higher on 4 of 7 criteria (Creation, review & approval, Structured content, localisation & export, European sovereignty, plus 1 more). Provenance — Sanity: Rest of world; Strapi: EU-Made, United States. Ratings are the AI panel’s opinion, formed from public evidence: how scores are made.

Sanity

Rest of world

Panel rating

Sovereignty: 1 of 4 dimensions proven

Full evaluation →

Strapi

EU-Made

Panel rating

Sovereignty: 1 of 4 dimensions proven

Full evaluation →

The short answer

The bench splits, and the split is the answer. Sanity takes editorial planning (4.2 vs 1.7, six judges leaning its way), AI and content rights (5.5 vs 3.8, six leans) and pricing transparency (7.8 vs 5.7, six leans), publishing Free at $0 and Growth at '$15 per seat per month' where Strapi's Enterprise price stays unpublished. Strapi takes collaboration and approval (7.0 vs 6.2, five leans, one tie), content model and reuse (7.0 vs 6.2, four leans), distribution and integrations (6.7 vs 6.3, three leans) and sovereignty (3.8 vs 3.0, five leans); its sovereignty attributes list a US legal entity jurisdiction and US-default data residency. Weighted totals diverge by judge: the content lead, SME marketer, data protection officer and skeptic land higher for Sanity; the localisation lead and web engineer land higher for Strapi. No overall winner.

Choose Sanity if

  • You need published prices before committing: Sanity lists Free at $0 and Growth at '$15 per seat per month' with viewer seats free, and six judges lean Sanity on pricing transparency (7.8 vs 5.7).
  • Your editorial team needs planning support beyond a review-stage filter: Sanity leads editorial planning 4.2 to 1.7 with six judges leaning its way, even though its calendar plugin is deprecated and publishing needs an external script.
  • You need training on your transferred input data prohibited: the Sanity verdict records it prohibited or disabled in all configurations, and six judges lean Sanity on AI and content rights (5.5 vs 3.8).
  • Your buying committee mirrors the content lead, SME marketer, data protection officer or skeptic: their weighted totals land higher for Sanity (5.6 vs 5.1, 5.3 vs 4.7, 5.3 vs 5, 5.8 vs 5.2).

Choose Strapi if

  • Your team runs multi-stage review: Strapi scores 7.0 against 6.2 on collaboration and approval, five judges leaning Strapi with one tie, on configurable review workflows with per-stage role permissions and a required stage that blocks publishing.
  • You need to export content, relations, assets and schemas yourself via the command line: content model and reuse leans Strapi 7.0 to 6.2, with four judges leaning Strapi and two ties.
  • Your delivery pipeline builds on auto-generated REST and GraphQL APIs with an OpenAPI specification and webhooks: distribution and integrations leans Strapi 6.7 to 6.3, three judges to one with two ties.
  • Your scorecard weights sovereignty: five judges lean Strapi (3.8 vs 3.0, one tie), and its sovereignty attributes list a US legal entity jurisdiction and US-default data residency.
  • Your team profile matches the localisation lead or web engineer: their weighted totals favor Strapi (6.3 vs 5.8 and 6.4 vs 5.9).

Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.

The Skeptic

Has read "AI-powered content at scale", "one source of truth for every channel" and "no lock-in, it's headless" on every page in this category. Reads instead for the export that includes locales and history, the clause on training with customer content, and what the invoice does when the third locale and the API overage arrive.

Sanity

This judge's pick

Strapi

Criterion by criterion

Planning, editorial calendar & briefs

Sanity

A visual editorial calendar exists as a Studio plugin with schedule, reschedule and unschedule actions, but the captured page notes the plugin is deprecated, tied to the deprecated Studio v2, and it does not perform publishing by itself — the documentation advises an external cronjob or webhook script to fire the publish event. Current planning strength sits in Editorial Workflows, which shows stages, assignments, actions and history beside the documents people edit. We found no public information on campaign grouping, briefs carrying goal, audience and keywords to the writer, workload or deadline views per person, or coverage-gap reporting; briefs appear only as a do-it-yourself schema example for image production.

Strapi

We found no public information on editorial planning: the campaign-management page, the pricing page and the review-workflow documentation confirm no calendar, campaign grouping, briefs, due dates or workload views. The closest facts are publishing releases and server cron jobs, which are delivery mechanics rather than a view of what is due, late or missing.

Creation, review & approval

Sanity

Comments and Tasks ship on all paid plans, stored in a parallel dataset with documented permission requirements, and Editorial Workflows adds configurable stages, assignments and durable history that can be driven from the CLI or custom interfaces. A complete history of all changes to a dataset, including deleted documents, is retained for a plan-dependent period. The full audit trail with the History API, custom roles and access control, and SAML single sign-on are listed as Enterprise-plan inclusions, and we found no public information on mandatory reviewers, freelancer access limited to assigned pieces, or scheduled publishing that waits for approval.

Strapi

The review machinery is real and documented: any number of custom stages per content type, per-stage role permissions governing who can move content, assignees, and a required stage that blocks publishing — with stage, assignee and workflow changes automatically written to audit logs. It all lives on the Enterprise plan, though, with content-history retention shown as 14 days on Growth and 'custom' on Enterprise, and we found no public information on inline comments, suggested edits, or guest and freelancer access limited to assigned pieces.

Structured content, localisation & export

Sanity

Content lives as structured JSON in the Content Lake behind a model defined in TypeScript or JavaScript, with references between entries, unlimited content types and unlimited locales on every plan, plus variants for A/B testing and one-click AI translation described. On exit, the terms promise subscriber data in Sanity's standard database export format within thirty days of termination, with no obligation to maintain data past that point. We found no public information on field-level localisation with fallback languages, translation workflows with status per locale and named translation-service connectors, or documented re-importable migration tooling in both directions.

Strapi

The export is the strongest documented part: a command-line export ships content, relations, assets, schemas and configuration in documented formats, self-service, with content-type filtering and automatic splitting of large datasets, and import and transfer are listed alongside it. The model side holds up too — components, dynamic zones, six relation types, custom fields, unlimited locales with per-content-type internationalization. We found no public information on field-level localisation with fallback languages, translation workflows with status per locale or named translation connectors, and the export expressly leaves out admin users and API tokens; version history's place in the export is not stated.

Publishing, distribution & integrations

Sanity

This is API-first delivery: GROQ and GraphQL, a Live CDN, GROQ-powered webhooks, a CLI and named framework integrations from React and Next.js through Astro and Eleventy, with content consumable by anything that can consume an API. The named integrations are delivery frameworks rather than CRM or analytics tools, and the uptime SLA appears as an Enterprise-plan inclusion. We found no public information on published API rate limits, a public status page, an API deprecation policy, or performance data pulled back per piece from analytics.

Strapi

The API story is unusually well documented: REST and GraphQL endpoints generated per content type, an OpenAPI specification, bearer-token authentication with content private by default, a client library, and webhooks whose event semantics are spelled out down to which events carry fully populated entries — plus a marketplace of reviewed plugins. We found no public information on published rate limits, a public status page, delivery SLA terms beyond an Enterprise support mention, or content performance pulled back from analytics; the named integrations are frontend frameworks rather than CRM or analytics connectors.

AI assistance & content rights

Sanity

The AI terms name OpenAI, L.L.C., Anthropic, PBC, Pinecone Systems Inc. and Google Inc. as third-party providers receiving input data, and state that all configurations explicitly prohibit or disable model training on data transferred to them, with uploaded data possibly persisting for a few days in provider archives and caches. Usage is metered in AI credits at $0.05 PER AI CREDIT, with agent queries and actions costed at 4 and 2 credits and monthly allocations that expire without rollover. We found no public information on ownership of generated output assigned in the terms, admin-level switch-off of AI features, EU processing locations for AI, or marking of generated content for EU AI Act transparency.

Strapi

The AI terms are candid where it counts: input is transmitted to third-party AI provider APIs, output 'might not be copyrightable' by the customer and 'might be the same or similar output provided to Strapi or a third-party AI provider', the integration is as-is with warranty and SLA excluded, and termination can come without notice or refund. We found no public information on the model provider's name beyond a pointer to the privacy policy's provider list, whether customer content trains models, where AI processing runs, retention of prompts and outputs, an admin off-switch, or EU AI Act labelling of generated text. The one governance hook is a bring-your-own-AI-key topic in the documentation, with credits that reset monthly and overages billed monthly in arrears.

European sovereignty

Sanity

A data processing addendum is offered, the privacy policy runs under Norwegian and EU GDPR with standard contractual clauses for transfers outside the EEA, and content is processed on Google Cloud Platform with the server region not stated, while generative AI input data goes to the US providers named in the AI terms. The agreement is governed by California law with exclusive venue in the state courts of San Francisco. We found no public information on EU hosting for content and assets, a subprocessor list with locations and purposes, or a self-hosting or European cloud option.

Strapi

The agreement is with Strapi Inc., a Delaware corporation, under California law, while the privacy policy names a Paris address and an Article 27 GDPR representative and states primary storage in the United States and the EEA, with region selection on the cloud and self-hosting offered for full control over data residency. A third-party provider list is published and SOC 2 and GDPR compliance are claimed with breach-notification procedures. The captured pages give no subprocessor locations, ownership is not established, and the AI processing location is not stated.

Pricing transparency

Sanity

Free at $0 and Growth at $15 PER SEAT / MONTH are public with the billing period, unlimited locales and content types on every plan, viewer seats free, and overage rates stated for API requests ($1 PER 25K), CDN requests ($1 PER 250K), bandwidth ($0.30 PER 1GB), assets ($0.50 PER 1GB), documents ($299 FOR 50K IN TOTAL), embeddings and AI credits ($0.05 PER AI CREDIT), with SSO, the audit trail and the SLA named as the Enterprise plan. The Enterprise plan itself is CUSTOM PRICING, invoice payment and annual billing are Enterprise-only, and the terms reserve the right to change AI consumption rates at any time with immediate effect, alongside one-year auto-renewing terms with sixty days' non-renewal notice. We found no public information on the cost of the export after termination.

Strapi

Community is 'Free Forever' and Growth is '$45 per month' with 'Includes 3 seats (+$15/month/seat)', single sign-on is a '$150 /month (+$50/month/seat)' add-on, and AI is explicitly priced: 1,000 credits per month on Growth, 'Additional credits: +$1.50 per 100 credits', overages billed monthly in arrears with a 15-day dispute window and no rollover. Locales, entries and API calls are unlimited on the priced plans, so the third locale and the API overage never arrive on the invoice. The gap is Enterprise — where review workflows and audit logs live — which carries no public price, and the offline-licensing and premium-support add-ons are named without figures; taxes are added at checkout.

Sovereignty, side by side

Dimension Sanity Strapi
Legal entity Not determined Incorporated in US
Ownership Not determined Not determined
Data residency Not determined Not determined
Subprocessors US CLOUD Act reach Not determined

Facts, side by side

Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.

Integrations · Frameworks React · Next.js · Angular · Node.js · GraphQL · Vue.js · Gatsby · Hugo · Remix · JavaScript · Nuxt.js · Astro · SvelteKit · Eleventy1

captured 1 Oct 2026 · Report an error

React · Next.js · Tanstack · Vue.js · Nuxt.js · Astro · Flutter · Svelte · React Native2

captured 13 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Legal · Liability cap 12 months of fees paid3

captured 15 Oct 2026 · Report an error

1004

captured 13 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Product · Enterprise features SSO with SAML · Dedicated support and uptime SLA · Onboarding program · Media Library (add-on) · Custom roles and access control · User Attributes5

captured 15 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Enterprise adds SSO, Review Workflows, Audit Logs; Strapi AI coming soon6

captured 1 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Product · Growth features Comments and Tasks · Scheduled drafts · AI Assist5

captured 15 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Growth plan adds Strapi AI, Live Preview, Releases, Content History, Basic Support6

captured 1 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Questions about Sanity and Strapi

Which is better, Sanity or Strapi?

As of 28 Oct 2026, the panel rates Sanity higher: 3/5 against 2.5/5. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 4 of the 6 judges pick Sanity and 2 pick Strapi. Which one fits depends on the criteria that matter to you; the table on this page shows both side by side, and each judge’s reading has its own page. Both were scored by the same AI bench under the same rubric, from public evidence only, as the methodology describes.

Is Sanity or Strapi European?

Sanity is not European by provenance (Rest of world). Strapi is European (EU-Made, United States). Provenance is read from each company’s own legal pages: who builds it and who owns it.

Do Sanity and Strapi have a free plan?

As of 28 Oct 2026, both vendors’ own pages state a free plan. Each product page links the pricing page it was read from.