whats-best.ai
Search Sign in

Expense Management · head-to-head

Pleo vs Spendesk

As of 29 Oct 2026, the panel rates Pleo 3.5/5 and Spendesk 3.5/5 in Expense Management. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 1 of the 6 judges picks Pleo and 5 pick Spendesk. Pleo scores higher on 2 of 6 criteria (Accounting handoff & DATEV and Receipt capture & expense claims). Spendesk scores higher on 4 of 6 criteria (Approval workflows & expense policy, Company cards & spend control, European sovereignty, plus 1 more). Provenance — Pleo: EU-Made; Spendesk: EU-Made. Ratings are the AI panel’s opinion, formed from public evidence: how scores are made.

Pleo

EU-Made

Panel rating

Sovereignty: not determined

Full evaluation →

Spendesk

EU-Made

Panel rating

Sovereignty: not determined

Full evaluation →

The short answer

Six judges, one rubric — and the benches genuinely split. Weighted totals lean Spendesk for five of six judges (travelling employee 7.1 to 6.7, controller 7.3 to 6.8, skeptic 6.8 to 6.4); the tax adviser leans Pleo, 6.9 to 6.5. By criterion, Spendesk leads cards and spend control 8.0 to 7.0 with six judges leaning Spendesk, and approval and policy 7.8 to 6.0 with six again. Pleo leads accounting export 7.7 to 6.7 with five judges leaning Pleo, and receipt capture 7.0 to 6.3 with four. Reimbursement and VAT sits at 5.8 versus 6.0 — five ties, one judge leaning Spendesk. Sovereignty splits 7.3 to 7.0 with four ties and two leaning Spendesk. Pricing transparency reads 6.8 versus 2.0; Spendesk is quote-only, so pricing is unweighted in its verdicts, while Pleo publishes per-user prices of 14 € and 18 €.

Choose Pleo if

  • You close your books through DATEV, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central or NetSuite — accounting export is Pleo's strongest criterion at 7.7 versus 6.7, with five judges leaning Pleo on one-click, GoBD-compliant DATEV sync and a documented export API.
  • You need published prices before a budget sign-off — Pleo publishes per-user prices of 14 € and 18 €, while Spendesk is quote-only; six judges lean Pleo on pricing transparency.
  • Your employees capture receipts at volume — receipt capture stands at 7.0 versus 6.3, with four judges leaning Pleo and none leaning Spendesk.
  • You want company cards issued under a single named EU supervisor — Pleo's cards are issued by Pleo Financial Services A/S under Danish FSA supervision on a Mastercard licence, and its legal-entity jurisdiction attribute reads DK.
  • A tax adviser shapes your purchase review — the tax adviser's weighted total leans Pleo, 6.9 to 6.5.

Choose Spendesk if

  • You need physical, single-use and subscription virtual cards with per-card limits — cards and spend control is a flat 8 for Spendesk versus 7.0, with six judges leaning Spendesk.
  • Your budgets must update the moment a request is approved — approval and policy stands at 7.8 versus 6.0 with six judges leaning Spendesk; note that multi-condition workflows sit in a paid add-on.
  • Your compliance policy requires EU-only data residency — Spendesk's data-residency attribute reads EU-only, with Dublin on AWS named in the verdict, while Pleo's data-residency attribute is recorded as unknown.
  • You must review security documentation before signing — Spendesk's verdict names a published subprocessor list and ISO 27001:2022, and sovereignty stands at 7.3 versus 7.0 with two judges leaning Spendesk.
  • You reimburse German per diems and UK or French mileage — Spendesk automates these; reimbursement and VAT is 6.0 versus 5.8, with one judge leaning Spendesk and five ties.

Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.

The Office Manager

Runs the office of a thirty-person agency and is the one who chases missing receipts every month. Wants a card for each project lead with a limit she sets, software subscriptions on their own virtual cards, receipts that arrive without reminders, an export the tax adviser accepts, and a monthly price she can work out before the trial ends.

Pleo

Spendesk

This judge's pick

Criterion by criterion

Receipt capture & expense claims

Pleo

The scanner app reads merchant and amount off a photo, pulls receipts from Gmail or Outlook inboxes automatically — even ones from the past thirty days — and chases staff until everything is submitted, which is exactly the receipt-hunt I do every month-end. Scanning and archiving is stated GoBD-compliant and duplicates are caught before they reach the books. The automatic VAT split sits only on the top plan, and I found no public information on line-item extraction, a substitute receipt for lost originals, or mileage with route calculation.

Spendesk

Employees snap a receipt in the app and the key details are read automatically, VAT extraction and expense account allocation are automated, and forwarding a receipt by email to the Marvin bot attaches it to the right payment; out-of-pocket claims go in from the app the moment they happen. Duplicates, errors and missing receipts are flagged early, and the captured pages give figures of 95% and 98% for receipts collected. We found no public information on currency conversion of claims, a substitute receipt for lost originals, or a GoBD-compliant scanning procedure.

Company cards & spend control

Pleo

Every plan ships physical and virtual Mastercards issued by Pleo Financial Services A/S under Danish financial supervision, with per-card limits, one-click freezing, real-time notifications, automated blocks on ATM withdrawals and specific categories, and cards that freeze themselves when a receipt goes missing. Purpose-bound cards (up to fifteen on the mid plan) would take my software subscriptions, and budgets track team, project or entity. I found no public information on single-use cards, period-based limits, pre-approval before a charge, or live feeds from our existing bank cards.

Spendesk

Physical and virtual cards come in four types including single-use and recurring ones for subscriptions, with budgets, blocks by time, day and merchant category, and ATM or contactless toggles; a card outside my rules simply will not work, and declined transactions are visible. Budgets update moment by moment with live views by team and cost centre, missing-receipt reminders go out automatically, and the issuers are named with licences — Spendesk Financial Services under ACPR number 17518 in the EEA, Adyen in the UK, Sutton Bank in the US. We found no public information on feeds from our existing bank cards.

Approval workflows & expense policy

Pleo

There is an expense-policy builder with real-time flagging of violations, approval logic that routes expenses, invoices and reimbursements to the right stakeholders in the right order, AI reviews that flag spend outside the guardrails, and a complete audit trail of every transaction, approval and policy decision. What I could not find documented is routing by amount or cost centre, deputies and escalation, pre-approval of trips or purchases, or country-specific policy limits.

Spendesk

A visual builder routes approvals by spend type, cost centre, category, analytical field and amount, policies can be tailored by seniority and role, and the published expense policy template includes a pre-approval threshold and personal-expense rules. The policy is checked the moment payment information is entered, out-of-policy spend is flagged before approval, managers approve in one tap on mobile, and card activity can be blocked for users exceeding limits. Cost centres can sit at organisation level across entities, and finance receives an audit path for every reimbursement; we found no public information on deputies and escalation or per-country limits.

Reimbursement, travel allowances & VAT

Pleo

Staff get money back in-app or through self-managed direct reimbursements without waiting for payroll, and Pleo calculates mileage and German per diems automatically from the statutory tax-free rates, adjustable to company rates, thresholds and fuel prices. The automatic VAT split is reserved for the top plan and in-app reimbursements cost 0,90 % on the two upper tiers, and I found no public information on meal deductions for multi-day trips, per-country rates maintained by the vendor, or foreign VAT reclaim.

Spendesk

Reimbursements are triggered directly in Spendesk with funds sent from the platform rather than the bank, employees can see when they will be paid back, and German per diems plus UK and French mileage rates, including electric cars, are calculated automatically with auto-generated trip reports. VAT extraction is automated per receipt. We found no public information on meal deductions, reimbursement currencies or a stated payment timeframe, or foreign VAT reclaim.

Accounting handoff & DATEV

Pleo

For my tax adviser this is the strongest part: one-click sync to DATEV Unternehmen online and the DATEV Buchungsdatenservice moves transactions, receipts, reimbursements and incoming invoices paperless and GoBD-compliant, as a declared DATEV Corporate Partner, with named integrations to Microsoft Dynamics 365, NetSuite and Xero among over twenty systems. A documented export API with webhooks, export job tracking and vendor tagging sits behind it. I found no public information on a procedure documentation or accruals and multi-entity bookings for the close itself.

Spendesk

A dedicated DATEV integration synchronises all spend data, DATEV is among the default journal templates, and the documented API generates purchase and bank journals as CSV with chart-of-accounts sync and bookkeeping status flowing back from the ERP. Native integrations are named — NetSuite, Xero, QuickBooks, Sage 100, Odoo, Exact Online, Microsoft Business Central, SAP and Dynamics — plus full organisation exports in CSV or Excel. We found no public information on receipt images travelling to DATEV, a GoBD-compliant archive, or webhooks.

European sovereignty

Pleo

The chain is largely European and named: two Danish entities with Pleo Financial Services supervised by the Danish financial authority, hosting on AWS Ireland plus Azure and Google Cloud in the EU, a published data processing agreement, and a sub-processor list with locations including EU-based payment processing in Frankfurt. Parts of the chain do run through US providers — Anthropic for AI features, HubSpot, Grafana, JP Morgan for account-to-account payments — and the captured pages name no ISO 27001 or SOC 2 certification, so I cannot place it higher.

Spendesk

Spendesk SAS is the contracting entity with its registered office in Paris, personal data is hosted in the European Union with the data center named as Dublin, Ireland, on AWS with daily backups, and a data processing agreement plus a published subprocessor list exist — Adyen and Wise for the UK, Sutton Bank and Dwolla for the US, Google Pay and Apple Pay. ISO 27001:2022 is stated, transfers rely on adequacy decisions or standard contractual clauses, and the EEA card issuer is the ACPR-licensed Spendesk Financial Services. We found no public information on ownership, and the individual locations of the subprocessors are not enumerated on the pages we read.

Pricing transparency

Pleo

The pricing page gives per-user prices for the Build and Optimise plans (14 € and 18 € per user per month, annual billing, minimum three users) plus unusually detailed fee tables — card foreign-exchange fees of 2,00 %, 1,75 % and 1,49 % by tier, ATM withdrawal fees, local and international payment fees, and a 0,90 % reimbursement fee. I could work out most of my annual cost before the trial ends, but the captured pages show no price for the Start tier, and VAT treatment, setup and cancellation terms are not stated.

Spendesk

No prices are shown publicly — the pricing page's call to action is a request for a free quote, and the German page likewise offers only "Kostenloses Angebot anfordern". The structure is described — the base package includes unlimited cards, users and control settings with no active user fees, "£0 setup & no hidden fees", travel at no extra charge and cashback that starts at 1% for eligible clients — but no figures for the plans or the named add-ons. I could not work out a monthly price before a trial ends.

Sovereignty, side by side

Dimension Pleo Spendesk
Legal entity Not determined Not determined
Hosting location Not determined Not determined
Hosting options Not determined Not determined
Open source Not determined Not determined
Data processing agreement Not determined Not determined
Transfer impact assessment Not determined Not determined

Facts, side by side

Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.

Compliance · GDPR yes1

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

yes · yes2

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Hosting · Card issuer Pleo Financial Services A/S · Mastercard International Incorporated · Finanzmarktaufsicht Dänemarks3

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Adyen · Sutton Bank · Spendesk Financial Services · Visa debit4

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Integrations · Netsuite NetSuite integration5

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

yes · yes6

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Integrations · Travelperk Schnittstelle zu TravelPerk; Zahlung mit Pleo-Karte, automatische Erfassung und Verbuchung von Ausgabendetails und Rechnungen7

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

yes6

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Integrations · Xero Xero integration available; Pleo claims connection takes under 10 minutes8

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

yes6

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Legal · Address Kopenhagen · Ravnsborg Tværgade 5C, 4. · Dänemark · 22001

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

7 Rue de Madrid, 75008 Paris, France9

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Legal · Card issuer Pleo Financial Services A/S · Mastercard International Incorporated1

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Adyen · Sutton Bank · Spendesk Financial Services · Visa debit10

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Legal · Entity Ravnsborg Tværgade 5C, 4., 2200 Kopenhagen, Dänemark · 36538686 · Pleo Technologies A/S · 39155435 · Pleo Financial Services A/S5

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

simplified joint stock company · Spendesk SAS · Paris Trade and Companies Register · 821 893 286 · 51, rue de Londres - 75008 Paris (France)11

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Legal · Registration number 3653868612

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

821 893 286 R.C.S Paris9

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Legal · VAT number 3653868612

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

FR10 821 893 2869

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Product · Card issuer Cards are issued pursuant to a license from Mastercard International Incorporated8

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Spendesk Financial Services (EEA) · Adyen (UK) · Sutton Bank (US) · Visa debit13

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Product · Customer count 400001

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

5,000+14

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Product · Duplicate detection Duplicate detection of transactions before accounting15

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Detection of duplicates, errors and missing receipts16

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Product · Realtime tracking Automatisches Verfolgen und Verbuchen aller Reisekosten in Echtzeit auf einer Plattform7

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Real-time monitoring of expense requests2

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Product · Virtual cards virtual cards stored in app17

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

yes · yes18

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Support · Status page yes1

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Real-time status page available10

captured 28 Oct 2026 · Report an error

Questions about Pleo and Spendesk

Which is better, Pleo or Spendesk?

As of 29 Oct 2026, the panel rates both 3.5/5. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 1 of the 6 judges picks Pleo and 5 pick Spendesk. Which one fits depends on the criteria that matter to you; the table on this page shows both side by side, and each judge’s reading has its own page. Both were scored by the same AI bench under the same rubric, from public evidence only, as the methodology describes.

Is Pleo or Spendesk European?

Pleo is European (EU-Made). Spendesk is European (EU-Made). Provenance is read from each company’s own legal pages: who builds it and who owns it.

Where do Pleo and Spendesk store customer data?

Per the vendors’ own pages as captured — Pleo: its pages as captured do not say. Spendesk: Default not stated; pages mention the EU.