As of 1 Nov 2026, the panel rates Databox 3/5 and Whatagraph 2.5/5 in Business Intelligence & Dashboards. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 6 of the 6 judges pick Databox and 0 pick Whatagraph. Databox scores higher on 5 of 7 criteria (Self-service analysis & shared metrics, Access control, administration & portability, Pricing transparency, plus 2 more). Whatagraph scores higher on 2 of 7 criteria (Dashboards, charts & interactivity and European sovereignty). Provenance — Databox: Rest of world; Whatagraph: EU-Made. Ratings are the AI panel’s opinion, formed from public evidence: how scores are made.
Databox leads five criteria: data connectivity 6.7 to 5.5 (four judges to none, two tied), self-service and modelling 6.8 to 4.7 (six to none), sharing and embedding 6.8 to 6.2 (four to none, two tied), governance and portability 5.7 to 4.0 (six to none) and pricing transparency 6.0 to 4.7 (six to none). Whatagraph leads dashboards and visualization 5.3 to 4.5 (three judges lean Whatagraph, none lean Databox, three tied) and sovereignty 4.7 to 4.0 (four to none, two tied). Both products' listed sovereignty attributes read unknown; the Databox verdict quotes hosting stated as the United States on AWS; the captured Whatagraph pages give different statements on where data sits. Where weighted totals show figures, Databox is ahead: 6 to 4.4 for the finance controller, 5.8 to 4.8 for the skeptic. The lean differs by judge and criterion, so we declare no overall winner.
Choose Databox if
You connect data from many sources — data connectivity leans Databox (6.7 to 5.5; four judges lean Databox, none lean Whatagraph, two tied), with 130-plus integrations documented.
Your team defines its own metrics — self-service and modelling leans Databox (6.8 to 4.7; six judges to none), with a governed semantic layer on every plan.
You need to govern definitions and move your data — governance and portability leans Databox (5.7 to 4.0; six judges to none); Whatagraph's public API sits on its top plan, and we found no public information on its row-level security or audit logs.
You must budget from published prices — pricing transparency leans Databox (6.0 to 4.7; six judges to none); Whatagraph's Max is published from €699 per month, billed annually, while Prime is Custom billed annually.
You embed dashboards in your own product — sharing and embedding leans Databox (6.8 to 6.2; four judges to none, two tied), with interactive embeds and password-protected public links documented.
Choose Whatagraph if
Your priority is dashboard presentation — dashboards and visualization leans Whatagraph (5.3 to 4.5; three judges lean Whatagraph, none lean Databox, three tied).
You weight sovereignty heavily — sovereignty leans Whatagraph (4.7 to 4.0; four judges lean Whatagraph, none lean Databox, two tied), though both products' listed sovereignty attributes read unknown and Whatagraph's captured pages give different statements on where data sits (the security policy says the European Union; the privacy policy allows the United States, Europe or any other country).
You are a marketing agency reporting on agency sources — Whatagraph documents 60-plus maintained connectors plus BigQuery, Snowflake, Google Sheets and a push API covering agency sources.
You deliver client-facing reports under your own brand — Whatagraph documents white-label client dashboards with the vendor hidden, branded subdomains, and scheduled PDF, CSV and Slack delivery.
Read this comparison as one judge. Each weighs the same scores by what they care about.
The Managing Director
Runs a 40-person service company with HubSpot, an online accounting tool, a help desk and a project management app, and no one whose job is data. Wants revenue, pipeline, utilisation and open tickets on one screen in the office and on their phone, set up in an afternoon from ready-made connectors, a weekly summary in the inbox on Monday morning, and a price that does not double when the whole team wants to look.
Databox
This judge's pick
Whatagraph
Criterion by criterion
Data sources, connectors & refresh
Databox
The connector list names HubSpot and covers accounting, customer support and project management categories with 130+ integrations, plus spreadsheets and the MySQL, PostgreSQL, Azure SQL and Redshift databases, so my whole stack is reachable. Refresh is hourly on paid plans with a 15-minute sync add-on, a database behind our firewall can be reached through a documented SSH tunnel, and anything unlisted can come in through a custom API builder; I found no public information on a live-query option versus stored extracts.
Whatagraph
The published connector catalogue is deep in marketing — paid ads, social, SEO, email, e-commerce — with HubSpot, Salesforce and GoHighLevel for CRM, Google Sheets, BigQuery as source and destination, a live Snowflake connection that supports an IP allow-list, blends that join several sources with left, inner, full and cross joins, and a push-type custom API. The captured pages give different figures for the total number of integrations (50+, 55+, 60+, 68, and 1000+ on the homepage), and we found no public information on connectors for accounting, help desk or project management tools, or on the minimum data refresh interval.
Dashboards, charts & interactivity
Databox
Targets, period comparisons, trends and forecasts are built in, 100+ ready-made templates cover marketing, sales, help desk and finance, and dashboards optimise themselves for phone, desktop and the office TV — exactly the one-screen, on-the-go view I want. The captured pages say little about the chart library itself: I found no public information on pivot tables, maps, drill-down or localised number and date formats.
Whatagraph
Twenty-plus widget types including charts, maps and tables, a template library, drag-and-drop building, goal bars showing performance against targets, date ranges that shared viewers can change themselves, and unusually deep theming with exact hex colours at global, dashboard and widget level. We found no public information on mobile display, localised number and date formats, or cross-filtering and drill-through.
Self-service analysis & shared metrics
Databox
Metrics are defined once with an owner, verified status and change history, the same definition feeds dashboards, scheduled reports and plain-language questions, and thousands of ready-made metrics ship for tools like HubSpot — no data person needed. Calculated columns and dataset merging are documented; I found no public information on a SQL editor for analysts, Git-controlled definitions or notebook analysis.
Whatagraph
Custom formulas on any metric, custom metrics defined once in Organize and reused across reports, and saved formula templates give a non-analyst repeatable numbers, and IQ Chat plus AI-created dimensions and metrics answer plain-language questions without coding. We found no public information on a SQL editor, on natural-language answers showing the query they ran, or on forecasting and anomaly methods.
Sharing, scheduled reports & embedding
Databox
Snapshots go out by email or Slack as PDF or image, a daily scorecard lands the KPIs each morning, and push alerts fire when a metric moves sharply — my Monday summary is covered. Public links can be password-protected, IP-limited and revoked, live dashboards embed in a website or intranet, and a $250.00 per month white-label add-on adds branded URLs, a custom domain and client logins; I found no public information on per-viewer row-level filtering inside an embed.
Whatagraph
This covers what I need on Monday morning: shareable links with optional password and expiry, scheduled weekly delivery by email, Slack, PDF or CSV, goal-based alerts to Slack or email, and iframe embedding of any shared report on a website. White-label delivery from our own domain is documented but only as an add-on on the top plan, and we found no public information on per-viewer row-level filtering in embedded dashboards or an embedding SDK.
Access control, administration & portability
Databox
Roles for users, editors and admins, two-factor login with session review, SAML single sign-on and a REST API that manages users, dashboards and billing cover what I would need before rolling this out, and data is returned or destroyed within 30 days of termination. Single sign-on sits behind unspecified select subscription plans and add-ons, automatic user provisioning is not supported, and I found no public information on development and production environments or exporting dashboards in a reusable format.
Whatagraph
Four roles with folder-level permissions, single sign-on listed as a feature, a public push API tied to the top plan, and Excel or CSV export of widgets and reports; the terms put retrieval and backup of all account contents on me before termination. We found no public information on row-level security, audit logs, development and production environments, or export of dashboards and metric definitions in a reusable format.
European sovereignty
Databox
Databox Inc. is a Delaware company in Boston and everything is hosted in the United States on AWS, so our revenue and customer data would sit across the Atlantic with no European hosting option shown on any captured page. A data processing agreement with standard contractual clauses is published and subprocessors including AWS, Google Cloud, OpenAI and Anthropic are listed by purpose with SOC 2 claimed, but their locations are not given and the vendor states it is not ISO 27001 certified.
Whatagraph
Whatagraph B.V. contracts under Dutch law with a published data processing agreement, states processing in the European Union on named Google Cloud and Amazon Web Services infrastructure, and claims ISO/IEC 27001:2022. The captured pages give different figures for where data is stored — the privacy policy says the United States, Europe or any other country — subprocessor locations are not listed, and the MCP sends data to Claude or ChatGPT with no stated safeguard.
Pricing transparency
Databox
Tiers are public with users, data sources, AI credits and sync frequency spelled out — Team at $199/month billed annually for 3 users, Scale at $399/month for 10, and an Agency tier with unlimited users — and the free plan's limits, the $250.00 per month white-label add-on, tax treatment and the no-refund policy are stated. The captured pages give different figures for the Agency entry price ($79/billed annually and $99/month) and for account packs ($20/month and $25/month), the 15-minute sync add-on is unpriced, and which plan unlocks single sign-on is not stated, so I cannot compute the full annual cost from public pages alone.
Whatagraph
The Max plan is public at '€699 from per month, billed annually' with unlimited users and unlimited reports — the price not doubling when all forty of us look is genuinely welcome — while the Prime plan is 'Custom billed annually', agent credits start 'From 50' with no stated price for more, and premium integrations, public API access and BigQuery or Looker Studio transfers sit on the top tier. Term, cancellation notice, tax treatment and a free starting plan are public; we found no public information on the free tier's limits or the add-ons' prices.
Sovereignty, side by side
Dimension
Databox
Whatagraph
Legal entity
Not determined
Not determined
Hosting location
Not determined
Not determined
Hosting options
Not determined
Not determined
Open source
Not determined
Not determined
Data processing agreement
Not determined
Not determined
Transfer impact assessment
Not determined
Not determined
Facts, side by side
Only facts both products carry under the same definition — anything else would not be a fair row.
As of 1 Nov 2026, the panel rates Databox higher: 3/5 against 2.5/5. Weighted by what each judge cares about, 6 of the 6 judges pick Databox and 0 pick Whatagraph. Which one fits depends on the criteria that matter to you; the table on this page shows both side by side, and each judge’s reading has its own page. Both were scored by the same AI bench under the same rubric, from public evidence only, as the methodology describes.
Is Databox or Whatagraph European?
Databox is not European by provenance (Rest of world). Whatagraph is European (EU-Made). Provenance is read from each company’s own legal pages: who builds it and who owns it.
Where do Databox and Whatagraph store customer data?
Per the vendors’ own pages as captured — Databox: its pages as captured do not say. Whatagraph: Default not stated; pages mention the EU.
Do Databox and Whatagraph have a free plan?
As of 1 Nov 2026, both vendors’ own pages state a free plan. Each product page links the pricing page it was read from.